ATI radeon 7000 128 meg PCI card (mac!)

Discussion in 'Current Events' started by NusuniAdmin, Jun 24, 2004.

  1. NusuniAdmin macrumors 6502a

    NusuniAdmin

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #1
    That new radeon card looks awsome. Give an old mac a new life :D Cant wait till its released. I think thats in like July 7'th

    Very nice that its only like $129 too!
     
  2. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #2
    That's quite a jump from the current 32 MB card. Makes me glad I waited.
     
  3. blue&whiteman macrumors 65816

    blue&whiteman

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    #3
    there is a new mac pci video card coming but its a radeon 9200 pci 128mb. some sites marked it by accident as a 128mb 7000. the highest the 7000 ever got or will get on mac or pc is 64mb.

    so the new card is a 9200 not a 7000
     
  4. NusuniAdmin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NusuniAdmin

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #4
    yes sorry..i accidently wrote 7000...fixed
     
  5. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #5
    That's even better. It might actually exceed the original Radeon Mac Edition card.
     
  6. daveg5 macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2001
    #6
    64MB voodoo 5500, formac 32Megabyte and original Radeon mac edition/ which was the best. the 9200 wont accelerate OS9 I believe.
     
  7. NusuniAdmin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NusuniAdmin

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #7
    9200?

    People still use voodoo's....those things died a while back
     
  8. blue&whiteman macrumors 65816

    blue&whiteman

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    #8
    it will for sure. the 9200 is based on the 9000 and has a better rendering engine. plus it has 4x the ram. unless someone has a b&w or yikes with a 66mhz pci slot then there is really no point to getting this card. a normal 33mhz slot would really limit this card.
     
  9. aethier macrumors 6502a

    aethier

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Location:
    Montréal, Canada
    #9
    hmm radeon 9200 128 megs, not bad, i could use it as an upgrade the ultra crap geforce2mx, 32vram i have in my quicksilver, thanks for telling us about it

    aethier

    EDIT PS: do you have a link?
     
  10. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #10
    It's a PCI card, not an AGP card, so it couldn't replace the GeForce 2MX, only augment it for another display or two.

    blue&whiteman:

    I've been holding off buying a 7000 for my B&W G3 so it will be perfect but it should be good for the person who happens to have 4 monitors. ;)
     
  11. aethier macrumors 6502a

    aethier

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2003
    Location:
    Montréal, Canada
    #11
    ahh yeah, i miss read the article that said it was 9200 not 7000, i guess i skipped the part that said it was PCI not AGP.

    is there even a market large enough to make ati break even on the money they'll be spending on converting the agp card to pci?

    aethier
     
  12. solvs macrumors 603

    solvs

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    LaLaLand, CA
    #12
    You be better off going with a 64 MB GF4 from someplace like OWC or PowerMax, or a new Radeon 128 MB 9000.
     
  13. chv400 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #13
    Well i guess 5 monitors for me is a possiblitlity With the 2 on my desk my TV, and a Sony 17 in CRT used for the 4400 and the Old Macintosh II si monitor i'll have 5.
    :D

    wow if i do that i wont have any room left on my desk to write on.


    B&W With 600 mhz G4 640 RAM, Sonnet Tempo HD, 40 gig HD, 80 gig HD, ATI 7000, ATI Xclaim VR
     
  14. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #14
    I'm sure it's just a matter of taking the current card for x86 machines and converting it to Mac firmware and adjusting the drivers. By now, the drivers should all be modularised so that you should be able to tell what hardware is there and load the plug-in for it.

    Besides, they always charge extra for Mac versions, even if the connectors are the same.
     
  15. MacinDoc macrumors 68020

    MacinDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    The Great White North
    #15
    Agreed, on a standard 33 MHz PCI slot, this probably wouldn't be noticeably faster than the originial Radeon Mac Edition. On the models you mentioned, it might offer a modest improvement in speed. Now, if it was an AGP card, there might be a bigger market for it...
     
  16. MacinDoc macrumors 68020

    MacinDoc

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Location:
    The Great White North
    #16
    PCI or AGP?

    Is it PCI or AGP? This description suggests that it supports up to AGP 8X. How is it possible for a card to support both PCI and AGP? :confused:
     
  17. blue&whiteman macrumors 65816

    blue&whiteman

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    #17
    its a pci card. that page is simply using info about the pc 9200. the only 9200 agp on mac are built into the ibook and emac.
     
  18. chv400 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #18
    Random question
    If i was to get this card and put it into the 66mhz Slot in my B&W how much better would expose look. I'm not sure if it only does 3 frames because My Radeon 7000/G4 600mhz is unable to or because the 66mhz PCI slot is a massive bottleneck.
    I'm talking about the F9 expose that makes all windows visible.
     
  19. bousozoku Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2002
    Location:
    Gone but not forgotten.
    #19
    It's most likely the system memory controller on the B&W, since it was not made for a G4. You may remember that Apple mentioned with the first G4s that the memory throughput was something like 3 times as much as the B&W series controller could handle.

    I just tried it on my G3/400, upgraded to 800 MHz with the Rage 128 card and, while it's a little jerky, it works pretty well. I also have 704 MB in the machine. Do you have enough RAM?
     
  20. chv400 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Location:
    Houston, TX
    #20
    My B&W has
    600mhz G4 with 1mb L2
    640 RAM
    40 gig HD
    80gig HD
    Radeon 7000
    Xclaim Vr
    Sonnet Tempo HD
     
  21. N10248 macrumors 6502a

    N10248

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2004
    Location:
    Essex, U.K.
    #21
    Does anyone know if this card will have a TV-out port, or will it be just DVI and VGA or ADC & DVI? - or a different combination (maybe 2 dvi's now the new aluminium displays are out)

    I have an old B&W 350 which i dont want to sell and having a tv-out on it would be very handy.

    Bye
     
  22. NusuniAdmin thread starter macrumors 6502a

    NusuniAdmin

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2003
    #22
    I cannot find any tech specs for the new card... I am guessing it will definitly have vga output and probably dvi or adc. To be honest i think it will have all the same output as the current 7000 card.
     
  23. Hemingray macrumors 68030

    Hemingray

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2002
    Location:
    Ha ha haaa!
    #23
    Dang it! I want to buy this, but my Yikes G4 is going on 5 years old now. I'm saving up for a G5 this time next year... must... resist!! :D
     
  24. blue&whiteman macrumors 65816

    blue&whiteman

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    #24

    when I had my b&w it had a 7000 in the 66 mhz slot and expose ran very well but I was using the quartz extreme hack. the hack came out in the jaguar days but seems to work even better with panther. some b&w's get memory fill speeds up to 600MB/sec with just a G4/500.

    I think the issue with the controller is more that its too picky what it works well with. good crucial or owc ram will run nice and fast.
     

Share This Page