ATI X1900XT question

Discussion in 'Mac Pro' started by mrdeathgod, Oct 10, 2006.

  1. mrdeathgod macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    #1
    Hi all,
    I recently bought a mac pro (2.66Ghz/2GB/X1900XT), and am thinking that the X1900XT might be more power than I need. I'm not a hardcore gamer anymore, but figured I should get a decent video card rather than regret it later. Right now I boot into WinXP for games, but the majority of the time, when i'm using OSX, that monster card is just sitting there idling. Based on the benchmarks i've seen, the idle power draw of the X1900XT is around 80W higher than the 7300GT. So my question for you Mac experts is, does there exist some kind of solution for underclocking the X1900XT in OSX? I'd love to be able to throttle it down during normal use, but still have that horsepower there when it's needed. Thanks!

    Matt
     
  2. THX1139 macrumors 68000

    THX1139

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #2
    Why? Are you concerned about cost to operate? I imagine the cost to operate the X1900 is only pennies per month compared to the total cost of electricity for your home or apartment. Or does it bother you that something with that much power is just sitting there without you being able to control it?

    In my experience, the X1900 sits there idling away when it's not used and ramps up when there is demand. What you are asking is kind of silly in my opinion... or I just don't get your question. :rolleyes:
     
  3. Spanky Deluxe macrumors 601

    Spanky Deluxe

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2005
    Location:
    London, UK
    #3
    Yeah that's true, when idling, processors and graphics cards use much less power than when running on full throttle so there's no issue there. Unless of course the OP wants to be able to down clock the card and disable the noisy fan somehow.
     
  4. crazzyeddie macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #4
    You also need to consider that in OS X, the card is almost never truly "idle" because of Core Image/Quartz Extreme.
     
  5. mrdeathgod thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2006
    #5
    I was just thinking that if there is a way to get the X1900XT to do the same job (basic OSX usage) and use less power in the process, might as well look into it. I mean there is only so much graphical processing that needs to be done for basic usage, so why feed the card any more electricity than it needs to do that?
     
  6. bearbo macrumors 68000

    bearbo

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2006
    #6
    doesn't the card draw less power when it's idled? at least the doesn't go as bad...
     
  7. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #7
    I am not sure what you're so concerned about: the amount of energy you Mac Pro consumes or what?

    BTW computers consume less electrycity than a light bulb ;)

    Oh and no, there's currently no way to under/overclock a videocard in OS X on intel Macs.
     
  8. Jiddick ExRex macrumors 65816

    Jiddick ExRex

    Joined:
    May 14, 2006
    Location:
    Roskilde, DK
    #8
    You NEED to elaborate on that please. A Mac Pro with a giga watt PSU might use more power than a 40 Watt light bulb in some aspects, for instance always...
     
  9. eXan macrumors 601

    eXan

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Location:
    Russia
    #9
    :D Still, the difference between X1900 and GF7300 in power consumptation is minimal.

    If you;re so worried about "waste" of energy, why did u buy Mac Pro at all???
     
  10. THX1139 macrumors 68000

    THX1139

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    #10
    My X1900 fan is silent unless underload so noise shouldn't be a factor. As for the power consumption, you'd probably save more money (and brain cells) by turning off your television for an hour a night. Worrying about powering the X1900 up and down is a waste of time and borderline obsessive.... and I'm wondering why I'm even wasting my time writing about this.

    Don't you have something to actually "do" with your Macpro... instead of focussing on tinkering with it?

    I proclaim this to be a silly thread. Move along... nothing else to see here.
     
  11. Zoowatch macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Location:
    Sheffield, UK
    #11
    so compared to the stock graphic card

    is the x1900 significantly more noisy when fed with heavy graphics work?

    or are they both just as noisy?
     
  12. mjgunn macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2006
    #12
    Its a horrible waste of energy, you should trade it for my 7300 immediately....I'll even throw in like $50 ;)
     

Share This Page