Attn: FCP Users...(refurb) Mac Pro or (new) Mac Book Pro?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Mindgame, Oct 25, 2006.

1. Mindgame macrumors newbie

My current system couldn't handle exporting the video I've been working on for several months. First, here are the specs:
    - 1 Ghz PowerPC G4
    - 1.25 GB RAM
    - 133MHz system bus

The project was edited in FCP 4.5, was 55 minutes long, and had lots of effects. The export (Uncompressed NTSC 8 bit 48khz) took 39 hours, and when it was finished, not only did the audio drop out in several places, but upon compression to MPEG-2, there were "streaks" across the video. The DVD authoring house said that the FSB on my laptop was probably too slow for such a huge export (66GB) and the file was therefore compromised. They suggested that I get a new computer for my next project. And they suggested I get something along the lines of their G5 Quad.

Before I get in to the computer options, I need to ask: Does their assessment of the failed export make sense? The sales guy (not "genius") at the Apple Store seemed to think that it wouldn't have to do with the FSB speed as much as the processor speed itself. Regardless of the reason though, I obviously need a faster computer. The question is, how fast?