ATV 3, Samsung TV and Yamaha RX-V430 AV Receiver

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by technowar, Aug 3, 2012.

  1. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cebu, Philippines
    #1
    Hi. Is it possible to use my Yamaha RX-V430 receiver to have a home theatre surround sound system on my ATV3 that is connected to a Samsung LED TV? I really need your expertise on this.
     
  2. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    #2
    Yes,it's possible to connect ATV3 to your Yamaha avr, connect HDMI from your ATV3 to Samsung LED TV an hook another fiber optic cable from ATV3 to your avr.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2009
    #3
    if your using HDMI why do you need the optic cable since (HD)MI will transmit hidef sound and pic
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2009
    Location:
    Texas, US
    #4
    The optical audio cable is required to get the hidef sound from the HDTV to the audio receiver. The HDMI from the ATV only moves it to the Tv.

    The other way to hook this up is to run all HDMI's from you sources (ATV, PS3, XBox, etc) to the receiver first, (most have multiple HDMI-in's) then run a single HDMI out from receiver to HDTV. This can have some pro's and con's, but I choose to run mine to the TV first, like the OP.
     
  5. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    #5
    If the OP wants the highest quality sound and video

    After doing it both and most imaginable ways possible with a very similar set up, it has become clear to me that using the ATV, mine is a 2 is NOT the best output one can obtain.
    The best one can obtain in my experience is with an MKV file, at a reduced size one generated by HB is fine, I use 1790, 2048 and with an excellent source like the documentaries and NG for example maybe 1536. These numbers result in an avg video save of 70 to 79% dep on the source. The audio is of course the same size file regardless of the video setting. I have seen no need except for archiving purposes to keep the whole 4,5,some times 7 g MKV. Now by running a single HDMI cable from either a laptop, mac mini, wired network or any other way EXCEPT ATV you get a much more pure AUDIO including if you wish DTS, not down mixed. In my experience the video is better also, but that is of course subjective. I have played with this over 18 months now and this is what I have arrived at. You have the advantage of being able to completely customize the HB rendition of the MKV file to your liking re: size vs quality AND you get excellent sound with pass through settings, including DTS. I do not do Blu Ray or do I jailbreak..
    YMMV
     
  6. technowar, Aug 3, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2012

    thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cebu, Philippines
    #6
    Thanks all for the quick reply.

    Anyways, this is the back panel of my receiver:

    [​IMG]

    Where will I plug the optical audio from here?
     
  7. Bymatt, Aug 3, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 3, 2012

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    #7
    Some how got the idea you had HDMI on the AVR...

    THAT LOOKS LIKE AN INPUT JACK TO ME......Anyway...you have some choice depending on how you are feeding the AVR. If you are using a DVD player, the optical goes to the pictured input jack. Most importantly, IF you are using a mini mac or a mac laptop running say VLC (free) and you have it if you use HB at all, then the optical output from either of these goes to the one pictured...And lastly, the output from the ATV will go here of course.
    I have a samsung 46, couple years old now. You can feed the optical to it from a device and in my manual it states that you then connect the TV out optical to the AVR optical in. It also says in the FINE PRINT that you loose some sound quality that way. What ever optical feed you are using, I would put into the AVR even if it meant having to switch a wire or two as you switch sources. The competing sources for your one input would be the 1) Cable box, my area gets decent 5.1 over the cable. 2) A modern DVD player or even a BLU Ray player. 3) Output from a mac mini or mac or other laptop that you can use as a music or media server.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cebu, Philippines
    #8
    Those are all RCA ports.

    Bymatt, which port is which? I'm confused on what your getting at.

    I am using the ATV 3 alone for the receiver.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    #9
    On the far left, under where it says "Optical DVD", from the optical out of the aTV.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cebu, Philippines
    #10
    Is there any port? My DVD component is using that port :|
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #11
    Could use a optical to digital converter and use your digital input port.
     
  12. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cebu, Philippines
    #12
    The yellow port located at the far upper left? Is that an RCA port by the way?
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #13
    Yes.

    Can also use an to toslink switcher. They can be very cheap (check out Monoprice.com). You can either get them so you switch by IR remote or automatic.
     
  14. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cebu, Philippines
    #14
    My setup is really weird. I got a 3.5mm jack that has 3 female RCA's in it. Plugged in 3 male RCA's to the female, and the other end is to the 3 female RCA's in the back of my receiver. Then plugged the 3.5mm jack to the headphones jack of my TV. Changed the receiver mode to V/Aux and got the audio but there are radio noises.

    On the other hand, I removed the optical audio cable from the DVD then plugged it in my ATV3. I also got the same audio.
     
  15. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #15
    You're not going to get surround sound from a headphone jack. Not sure what the point of that was.

    What do you mean by "same audio"? Same as headphone jack, same as dvd player?
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #16
    What model is your TV ? Also, how is your DVD set up right now ?

    Like mic j said, not sure why you're using a headphone adapter to send audio out to your receiver, you'll get static for sure if that cable is not plugged in good or is old and worn out.

    Attached is a layout of 1 option of how to connect everything (not to scale, at least I hope not).
    [​IMG]

    Optical Switch:
    Click Here

    With this setup you don't have to have your TV on to stream music from your iPod/iPhone/iPad.

    Device Menus:
    Receiver Source - Set to Digital 1
    TV Source - Set to HDMI

    Enjoy !


    -Nik
     

    Attached Files:

  17. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cebu, Philippines
    #17
    3.5mm jack with RCA's and an optical cable has the same audio output. It produced a surround sound. Swear! Though I had a noise when connecting it to the 3.5mm jack.

    Anyways, what is that red RCA cable for? In my current setup now, I don't have that. :\
     
  18. Ic3y, Aug 4, 2012
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2012

    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #18
    The red RCA cable was to replace your crappy 3.5 headphone connector. You may have gotten sound out of all your speakers, but it wasn't surround sound.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cebu, Philippines
    #19
    By the way, our TV is Samsung. Link here.

    It has 2 3.55mm ports for Component In. 1 Composite In (AV) and the 1 Component In (Y/Pb/Pr).

    So where will I plug the red RCA cable?
     
  20. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2012
    #20
    Gotcha, you confused us when you said you plugged the 3 RCA adapter into the "headphones jack of my TV". Make sure you plug that special 3.5mm Samsung adapter into the correct port and not the headphone jack on the TV. That's why you're getting noise.

    Only headphones or a 3.5mm to RCA cable goes in your headphone jack:
    [​IMG]

    Use my attached pic for best setup and look at pages 8 & 9 of your TV's manual.

    [​IMG]


    -Nik
     

    Attached Files:

  21. thread starter macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2011
    Location:
    Cebu, Philippines
    #21
    Thank you so much! You really helped me out here.

    I'm on my way placing an order on that optical switch and some optical cables.
     

Share This Page