ATV out of Warrnaty, need to Clone HDD

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by Wicked1, Jan 28, 2013.

  1. macrumors 68040

    Wicked1

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Location:
    New Jersey
    #1
    Ok, so have a 160GB ATV and I want to backup the drive or Mirror it to another in case the drive fails, otherwise Apple would swap it and Charge me $99 for a replacement.

    Ideally I would love to Clone the drive with a 250 and plop that in, in case the 160gb dies.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    May 6, 2004
    #2
    Search some of the older AppleTV 1 threads. There should be plenty, but also a long thread with people discussing updating the internal HD to larger drives.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #3
    AtvCloner if you have a mac which your sig suggests. You will need a pata to usb adapter to hook it up to your mac.

    Here is the app though might have issues with Mountain Lion ( I am on Lion so haven't tested it yet).

    https://dl.dropbox.com/u/29510955/AtvCloner_2_0.zip
     
  4. AppleComputer, Jan 29, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 18, 2013

    macrumors newbie

    AppleComputer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #4
    A clone is not needed, you can use swiss army knife to create a factory install of atv os from mac within os x.

    I did this when my ATV original HDD died, popped in a new one and ran through these steps with a usb drive and os x computer, very simple procedure.

    http://wiki.openelec.tv/index.php?title=Step_2_Create_the_USB_Key_(from_Mac_OS_X)

    http://wiki.openelec.tv/index.php?title=Restoring_the_Apple_OS
     
  5. Steve247, Jan 29, 2013
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 18, 2013

    macrumors member

    Steve247

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2007
    Location:
    in the 'burbs of Toronto
    #5
    Step 1 is blank! [Mod note: fixed]

    Does this solution allow for a replacement drive to be like a factory restored aTV or does it install an alternative OS?

    Thanks
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    AppleComputer

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2012
    Location:
    Cupertino, CA
    #6
    It is a factory clone, I did the same procedure when replacing my drive.
     

Share This Page