ATV2 Crash when playing music through Airplay

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by mapleleafs89, Nov 25, 2011.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    #1
    I jailbroke by ATV2, installed XBMC on it.

    I do crash often when running XBMC on it even after installing updatebegone.

    But thats a whole other issue. When I play music on my PC through iTunes and stream it to my Apple TV using airplay my Apple TV reboots during random points in certain songs. I think it does happen during certain songs only however, but the song keeps playing fine on my PC while the apple tv just reboots and I lose sound.

    Is this a known issue? An issue with iTunes or Apple TV?
     
  2. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #2
    Does it happen when it's not jailbroken?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    #3
    Not too sure, I jailbroke it right out of the box.
     
  4. macrumors 603

    blueroom

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Toronto, Canada
    #4
    I'm sure it's the jailbreak. Mine (and most folks) work just fine with stock firmware. Try converting your video with Handbrake to ATV2 / audio with XLD to AAC or Apple Lossless * and sharing it via iTunes see if it's more stable.

    * MP3's should be fine on a stock ATV2.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2011
    #5
    I converted the song in iTunes by right clicking and choosing create AAC version, the crashing still happens on these songs. Its not at a specific point everytime, for example one time it may be at 1:45 into it but if I play it again it will play over that part at crash 45 seconds later or something.
     
  6. macrumors 601

    PNutts

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2008
    Location:
    Pacific Northwest, US
    #6
    It doesn't sound like you're doing anything differently than anyone else, a test would be to re-rip or even just re-encode the offending songs to see if that helps.

    I suppose it's possibly a hardware issue, but the only way to know is to un-JB and see if the problem remains. Of course you need to be careful about being able to re-JB after your tests are complete.
     

Share This Page