Audio CDs won't play

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by ac2102, Nov 17, 2003.

  1. ac2102 macrumors member

    ac2102

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Location:
    Bristol - England
    #1
    Just received my new iBook G4. All is well except for that when i put an audio CD in the drive it fails to mount or play. DVD's play no problem and data CDs work equally as well; only audio CDs are the issue. Any ideas!

    Any help would be appreciated! Thanks in advance,

    ac2102
     
  2. alset macrumors 65816

    alset

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Location:
    East Bay, CA
    #2
    Multiple CDs won't work, or just one? I'm sure you tried several, but it never hurts to check.

    Dan
     
  3. ac2102 thread starter macrumors member

    ac2102

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Location:
    Bristol - England
    #3
    Nope, none of the audio cd's in my collection will work. Could re-installing i-tunes be of any help?
     
  4. zimv20 macrumors 601

    zimv20

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2002
    Location:
    toronto
    #4
    does the CD mount on the desktop? if it does, does it contain files for the songs?

    if yes to both, try playing the CD w/ the Apple CD player instead of itunes.
     
  5. Flynnstone macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #5
    I just received my 1.8 G5 last Thursday. same thing with it. Would not mount audio CDs. Disk Utility sort of understood it.
    I called Applecare, they said to perform a hardware test. I did that and everything was OK. So ...
    I ended up doing a clean install of Panther, disk reformat the works. Everything is seems OK now. Sounds like Apple is shipping a corrupt install version.
     
  6. ac2102 thread starter macrumors member

    ac2102

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Location:
    Bristol - England
    #6
    Cheers guys, looks like il be doing a full install then! Tried doing a hardware check, no problems whatsoever. Wish me luck. Im a first time OSX user about to perform a clean install!
     
  7. Flynnstone macrumors 65816

    Flynnstone

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2003
    Location:
    Cold beer land
    #7
    I am/was too, a recent switcher.
    If you have any files you want to get off your HD, do it before the install. I missed some, but no biggy.
    Boot from CD do the clean Install.
    After the install, boot from Hard disk, goto the install CD and you can install Classic and all the other Applications that came with the machine. I wanted Classic (not because I like it or understand it) for compatibility reasons, some of my old kids games CD are also Mac version and they run in Classic.

    Hope that helps. Also call Applecare, it sounds like there may be more people in our "situation".
     
  8. ac2102 thread starter macrumors member

    ac2102

    Joined:
    May 12, 2003
    Location:
    Bristol - England
    #8
    Sorted! Clean Install did the trick! Off to bed a happy man! This is one awesome mac apple.
     
  9. reeks macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2004
    #9
    audio CD mounting problem doesn't require a clean install

    Since updating to 10.3 and then 10.3.2, I was unable to mount audio CD's. However, the problem appears to be user-bound, as logging in as someone else I was able to mount the CD.

    Hence, the problem must be in one of my personal preferences, not the entire system. Although I haven't narrowed the problem down to a single prefs file, trashing all your prefs certainly is a lot less work than clean-installing your system... Right now I inserted the CD while logged in as one user, waited for it to mount, did the quick switch back to my own account, and the CD remained mounted. Don't know it this will last, but it's a temporary solution at least.

    hope this helps someone else. I followed up some of the tips in the apple.com forums, such as trashing certain cache files, rebooting, even using panther cache cleaner's deep cleansing, but to no avail...
     
  10. 12ibookg4 macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2003
    #10
    The exact same thing happened to me. I had bought an ibook g4 also and audio cd's wouldn't mount. I called up tech support and they told me to reinstall itunes. well, when the file was done downloading, the .dmg wouldn't mount. So maybe it applies to all disk images. I also couldn't burn cd's. The tech support guy said the only thing to do would be a clean install. i did and it worked perfectly.
     
  11. GodOD macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2004
    #11
    My CDs have mounting problems as well...

    Just got a single 1.8 ghz and when I put an audio CD in nothing happens. But when I put in a DVD or start the DVD app and then put in an audio disc, the CDs will mount fine after that. Very screwy. Besides reinstalling and nuking everything on my hard drive and starting over, anyone have any other suggestions?
     

Share This Page