Audio Line In Missing?

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Lion (10.7)' started by Zarkizon, Jul 13, 2012.

  1. Zarkizon, Jul 13, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2012

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #1
    I installed a third party application and it changed my Sound settings in System Preferences. I don't know how to get it back to normal! I am trying to connect an external sound source to the computer through the audio jack, and to get it to record I need to change my settings to "Line Input" but that option is completely gone. I have reinstalled Lion, but nothing changed. How can I get this back to normal?

    Thanks!
     
  2. robgendreau, Jul 14, 2012
    Last edited: Jul 14, 2012

    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    #2
    What Mac do you have?

    Do you have something plugged into the audio minijack when you try to access Sound?

    What third party application?
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #3
    MacBook Pro 13-inch, Mid-2012, 2.5 GHz

    I have tried plugging in the 1/8th cable into the audio jack when accessing Sound, I have had nothing in the audio jack when accessing it as well.

    The app I am using is called Livestream Procaster. It streams audio/video from the computer to the Livestream website. After installing this app, I noticed that in my Sound settings I have a new "device" for sound input called ProcasterAudioredirector.
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Dewroo

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    Tilton, NH.
    #4
    ProcasterAudioRedirector uses the power of Core Audio to take what's in your sound card to the people you want to stream too.

    There are mutiple ways to switch inputs. It all depends on what program you are useing but if you want a 'global' way to fix the problem, i'll try to help.

    You have to go to this prefrence pane in the System Prefrences: Sound
    [​IMG]
    My thinking is that you have Procaster's software as your main input right now. It should look like this. (I have a macbook air, so Line in doesn't apear on my list. But it will in yours.)
    [​IMG]
    Double click "line in" like so it's highlighted like internal microphone is for me.
    [​IMG]

    I think that should help you. Alternitively, if you're using garageband to record from your external source, you can selcet your recording input from Garageband>Prefrences>Audio/midi from this drop down menu.
    [​IMG]
     
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #5
    Here's what I see:

    [​IMG]

    Line In is just not there.

    Line In is also missing from GarageBand...

    [​IMG]

    I don't really want to have to completely erase my drive just to get this option back, but I'll do it if I have to.
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Dewroo

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    Tilton, NH.
    #6
    Hmmm...very intresting. I want to try to help you. Can I try to do what via iChat screen sharing?
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2011
    #7
    Interesting news about my audio issue...

    I finally called Apple Support after googling around for similar issues and I couldn't find anything. I thought that I might have a hardware problem, but it turns out that my Mac works perfectly. One of the advisors I was talking with told me that the audio jack on the newer MacBook Pros (with the dual Line In/Line Out port) cannot simply have a 1/8th stereo audio cable and it reading as "Line In" under the Sound pane in System Preferences. He said that for whatever reason, Apple removed the option to do that.

    He told me that my only option was to use a USB sound card with a Line In port on it, because that will show up under the Input tab in the Sound pane in System Preferences.

    Then he said that this was something that the engineers could work on and told me to fill out a form http://www.apple.com/feedback/macbookpro.html and if they get enough of these feedback requests about the Line In issue, they might consider making a fix for it. I asked the advisor if they actually read these requests, and he said that all of the teams have to read these requests.

    So in the meantime I ordered a USB sound card so I can record sound coming into the Mac.

    So it would be cool if everyone could go to MacBook Pro Feedback and request to have the option to select what the Audio Input can be used for, then maybe they will consider making a fix for this issue.
     

Share This Page