Audio oddness

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by northen, Nov 12, 2005.

  1. northen macrumors member

    northen

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    #1
    Well, being a home music composer/producer, the built-in audio card of my PowerMac G5 doesn't cut it.

    So I bought a M-Audio Delta Audiophile 192. I should say that I am using Tiger (10.4.3)

    I install drivers, insert it properly and plan to have fun with the new card. But none of my applications produce audio output.

    I fix that by selecting the correct output in /Applications/Utilities/Audio MIDI Setup.app (which is the SPDIF outputs).

    A few reboots later and QuickTime doesn't play audio in video tracks at all. iTunes doesn't play the audio in movies either, but is happy to play all other kinds of audio. World of Warcraft works okayish - ingame music is non-present, but all other sounds are.

    What's happened? And would it be adviseable to attempt a reinstall of the OS itself?
     
  2. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #2
    Try opening and then quitting Garageband if you have it. :)
     
  3. northen thread starter macrumors member

    northen

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    #3
    Yeah; sadly I don't have GarageBand. And opening/closing Logic 7 doesn't seem to do it :confused:

    Any way, I think the issue is that OSX keeps reverting to outputs 1 and 2, which are the analogue outputs, whereas I want to use 3 and 4, which is the SPDIF out.
     
  4. mad jew Moderator emeritus

    mad jew

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2004
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    #4
    Okay, does this post by riche help? It's in response to a different problem but it may still be relevant. :)
     
  5. northen thread starter macrumors member

    northen

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Location:
    Aalborg, Denmark
    #5
    Ah. I found that the problem was that Audio/Midi thingie kept setting the outputs to the analogue ones, not the digital. But after opening QuickTime with Audio/Midi open, all issues were fixed. Sample rate wasn't the problem, it was 44.1 KHz in all cases (my digital receiver shows the frequency) :)
     

Share This Page