Audio Output options won't work

Discussion in 'Mac OS X 10.3 (Panther) Discussion' started by limagre, Jan 31, 2004.

1. limagre macrumors newbie

Hi. I'm a newbie here with a very confusing problem.

I'm hooking up my stereo to my iMac (running OS X Panther, of course) and it just isn't working well. I realized that I wasn't getting sound out of my internal or external speakers when it was hooked up because my sound preference wasn't set to Built-in Audio. So I changed it and ran to the store to get a missing cable. When I returned, my computer was mysteriously off, and no one else has been around. When I rebooted, my sound preferences were changed again. So I tried to get it to change back to Built-in Audio, but it refuses to say anything but "internal speakers" if my external aren't plugged in or "headphones" if my external are plugged in. My external are plugged in where they always are, where they were earlier when it did allow me to select built-in audio. I have gone to Audio MIDI Setup and the defaults for both input and output are built-in audio.

When I hook up my stereo to be the speakers, the sound works fine, regardless of what the output setting says. When I hook up my stereo to play to the iMac, I get no volume.

Sound is reaching the iMac though. If I go into iMovie and record after hitting play on my tape deck, sound will record and sound great on playback. It will even export fine. That's no way to record though because I can't really hear how much I'm recording or the volume.

I've tried rebooting, switching all the input options to see if it'll change the output options, tried all the headphone jacks in case the sound really was being exported there. I ran utilities off the install disk too, in case there was some damage to the hard drive. Nothing.

I am at a complete loss. "Help" didn't really do anything. It just tells me to select the device, but I have no options to select from!