Australian buying options

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by mad jew, Feb 16, 2005.

1. mad jew Moderator emeritus

mad jew

Any Aussies here know of good places to buy new Mac parts? I'm mainly interested RAM and hard drives. Everyone on these forums talks about Critical etc but are there Australian alternatives? Apple charge such high prices for these things!

Also, are third party parts like RAM and hard drives all compatible with OSX?

2. inlimbo macrumors 6502

When I bought my PB Rev D under the Educational price the Apple RAM was the cheapest I could find!!! But if ur not a student I guess that doesnt help you.

www.macmall.com.au sells RAM. I dont know of many others. When it comes to Apple stuff Australia really sux

3. devman macrumors 65816

devman

4. mad jew thread starter Moderator emeritus

mad jew

Thanks Aussies. Yeah, I'm a student but the prices still seem a bit hefty.

Ahh well, you get what you pay for...

5. JRM macrumors member

Streetwise

Check out www.streetwise.com.au They are the cheapest in my mind

6. oingoboingo macrumors 6502a

oingoboingo

Do you mean 'Crucial' instead of 'Critical' :)

www.crucial.com

Their RAM is top-notch, and they guarantee it will work in your particular system if you follow through their online selector and choose according to your machine. It can be a little pricey though, and you have to pay for delivery from the US. I bought 2 x 512MB sticks for my PowerMac G5 after having a bad experience with some locally bought Apacer stuff (kept causing the G5 to lock up and crash).