Auto Cad for Mac

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by goodwill, Jun 9, 2004.

  1. goodwill macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    London
    #1
    Does anyone know if theres any possible way to use Auto Cad with a Macintosh on a 17in 1.5ghz G4 Powerbook? Is the only way possible via Virtual PC 7?

    Does anyone use Auto Cad on Mac for Architecture or know anything about the possibility of doing so?

    Thanks!
     
  2. Macky-Mac macrumors 68030

    Macky-Mac

    Joined:
    May 18, 2004
    #2
    You can use Virtual PC to run Autocad on a Mac....don't expect the same zippy performance that your Mac gives you on Mac programs though.....but it does work.

    If you need to do a lot of Autocad work, like hours of it day after day for a job, then you probably wont be satisfied. Most people will say you're going to be much happier and better off finding a PC for that kind of extensive work.

    On the other hand, if you only need it "occassionally" for "light" use, yeah, people do use it on the Mac
     
  3. CalfCanuck macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2003
    #3
    Vectorworks?

    Are you just trying to open AutoCAD files? If so, Mac CAD programs like Vectorworks that support AutoCAD files might be your solution (another is ArchiCAD, which is a lot more expensive but a very tight program on it's own).
     
  4. superbovine macrumors 68030

    superbovine

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2003
    #4
    search the forums. i have read a good thread or two about this very topic.
     
  5. Counterfit macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #5
    AutoCad does not currently exist in a supported form for OS X. There was a version long long ago, and from I hear it sucked. I don't miss it though, as AutoCad is one of the least useable applications I have ever used, and that includes several CLI-only apps. :eek:
     
  6. ephramz macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2004
    #6
    In the news...

    Goodwill, did you sew this article posted on MacBytes.com:
    http://www.architosh.com/news/2004-06/2004c-0610-newg5-2.phtml

    Seems like a site devoted to people using Mac's for architecture and CAD. So they'd probably have some good tips. They do mention VectorWorks as an alternative to AutoCAD, as mentioned above. Sounds like it's worth a try if you just need to read in AutoCAD files. If AutoCAD is anything like how I remember 10 yrs back or so, I'd much rather use an alternative!
     
  7. mactastic macrumors 68040

    mactastic

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2003
    Location:
    Colly-fornia
    #7
    I run AutoCad (actually Architectural Desktop) on my TiBook via VPC 6. It sucks, but it's better than having to use a PC laptop. I wouldn't do any production work on it, but it's good enough for home work and revisions out in the field.

    Feel free to PM me if you have any further questions.
     

Share This Page