auto login

Discussion in 'Windows, Linux & Others on the Mac' started by gazcaz, Mar 6, 2008.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #1
    Hi,
    Is it possible to set fusion to start windows when i turn the mac on without having to put in passwords ect. this way, i can turn the mac on, and when i come back both operating systems will be running.
    Cheers
     
  2. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    #2
    cmon guys, surly this is an easy one for you experts.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    #3
    OSX passwords? I dont use fusion so I dont know if it makes you give the admin password everytime it opens. But in Windows if you want it to auto-login then you have to leave the password field blank when first installing windows.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2008
    #4
    Digging this out of the grave. Would love to know an answer to this. I' use windows/osx simultaneously everyday and would love to have it load automatically while flirting with my secretary.
     
  5. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #5
    i think it could def be possible! would need trial and error though.

    setup your virtual machine so that it runs whenever the program is opened - i think you have to suspend it from the previous use. (not familiar with vmware)

    system preferences->accounts->login items, add vmware/parallels.

    in windows you will have to most likely turn off the login feature. i dont know if its possible :\
     
  6. Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #6
    In previous versions of Windows you needed to set a blank password for this. In W7 they seem to have made it a bit more robust...

    http://www.w7forums.com/automatic-login-t420.html

    B
     
  7. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #7
    yea that got me a bit confused, wasnt entirely sure if you couldnt set a password.
     

Share This Page