Auto sensing ethernet

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by trainguy77, Jun 21, 2004.

  1. trainguy77 macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #1
    just wondering, from what year does auto sensing start. Would my, emac 1 gig have auto sensing? Or do i need cross over cables
     
  2. LaMerVipere macrumors 6502a

    LaMerVipere

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2004
    Location:
    Chicago
    #2
    Do you mean by "auto sensing ethernet" that when you plug an ethernet cable into the computer you don't need to do anything else and you're immediately online?

    Because if thats what you mean, then it's a feature that came along with Panther, so if you have panther there should be no problem :)
     
  3. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
    He's asking if he needs a cross-over cable or if the Mac will auto-sense the wiring.

    That eMac should autosense. I'll see if I can find out for sure.
     
  4. LeeTom macrumors 68000

    LeeTom

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    #4
    No, he means that the ethernet hardware will auto-sense if it is connected to another ethernet device, regardless of whether it is using a crossover or normal cable.

    All I know is that all gigabit ethernet ports are autosensing.

    Lee Tom
     
  5. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
  6. telecomm macrumors 65816

    telecomm

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2003
    Location:
    Rome
    #6
  7. osprey76 macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 3, 2004
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, OK
    #7
    I know it wasn't my question, but thanks for the info. Lately, I *thought* my Gigabit Ethernet Mac was autosensing, but hadn't found documentation of that or had gotten around to testing.
     
  8. trainguy77 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
  9. trainguy77 thread starter macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2003
    #9
    I just noticed that you need panther, but i am using 10.2.8 with my ati graphics emac, so i still need cross over ethernet cables!

    ps. is it worth the money to upgrade to panther for all the new stuff its got?
     
  10. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #10
    Opinions vary. For me, a resounding "yes". Others think it's overpriced. I love Exposé. I love better iDisk integration. I like the Finder improvements. All in all, I'm really quite happy with it. It was definitely worth it to me. Your mileage may vary.
     
  11. BrianKonarsMac macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2004
    #11
    try 10.3 for a week, than go back to 10.2. the difference is astonishing.

    upgrading now would be a waste of money however, as 10.4 should be out relatively soon.
     

Share This Page