Automatically mount Sparsebundle?

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by Namtaro, Nov 22, 2012.

1. macrumors regular

Is there any way to do this?

I have a sparsebundle on a fileserver that I use for timemachine backups and everything's great... it's just that I have to manually mount it every time I wake the macbook from sleep.

I have tried dragging the sparsebundle into the login items, but that only mounts the shared harddrive and doesn't mount the sparsebundle itself.

Any solutions would be awesome, thanks!

2. macrumors P6

Weaselboy

I think you could do it with the below shell script in an Applescript launched at login.

Code:
    hdiutil attach -mountpoint ~/myMountPoint mySparsebundle.dmg

3. thread starter macrumors regular

Sorry, I've never used Applescript before, any instructions to do so?

4. macrumors P6

Weaselboy

Okay. Start the Applescript editor from /Applications/Utilities and paste in the text below. Change extDriveName to whatever your external drive is called. Also change mySparsebundle.dmg to whatever you sparsebundle is called. Now click Run to test. If it works okay, go ahead and save the Applescript wherever you want. Documents folder is fine. Now add the Applescript to your login items. That should do it.

Code:
    do shell script "hdiutil attach -mountpoint /Volumes/[I]extDriveName[/I] [I]mySparsebundle.dmg[/I]"

5. thread starter macrumors regular

That's what I've written so far and it's turning up an error
    You said to change extDriveName to my external drive... but I do not have the sparsebundle on an external drive, but on a networked drive. That might be the problem?

6. macrumors P6

Weaselboy

Oh yes... that changes things. Follow this to mount the NAS at login then use the Applescript to mount the sparse bundle.

Change the mountpoint /Volumes/extDriveName section to the NAS location. Look toward the bottom of the page I linked and you will also see a way to add the network mount to the Applescript.