Automator finder script fails, but works in "automator.app"

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by 840quadra, Oct 22, 2005.

  1. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #1
    Ok, I am at a loss as to why Automator is not working in this situation.

    What I am trying to do is as follows

    1. Find images in a specified folder (spotlight)
    2. Make a new album in iPhoto and copy the images to this location and delete originals.
    4. Make a new Finder folder
    5. Find Documents in a specifiled folder (spotlight)
    6. Move documents from results to a specified folder (The folder I just created)

    This isn't rocket science, it is thought that the intent of creating Automator was to do simple tasks like this. The script works fine when I run it from within automator, however when I attempt to run the script via finder shortcut (Contextual menu > Automator > "My script") it fails.

    Actually the only thing that Does work when I run the finder script, is the creation of my new folder.

    Anybody have similar experience?

    [​IMG]
     
  2. varmit macrumors 68000

    varmit

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #2
    How id you save the script. When you do File, Save As, what do you choose under File Format at the bottom of the save window. Work flow or Application. Work flow save the Automator work flow, but I don't believe makes a full working script. If you save it as an Application, its a fully functional script on its own.
     
  3. mduser63 macrumors 68040

    mduser63

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Location:
    Salt Lake City, UT
    #3
    I've stopped using Automator completely because it's just too buggy. This is one of the many bugs I've run into. Most of the time, a workflow that works great within Automator, inexplicably fails when saved as an application and run. Maybe Automator will get more useful when 10.5 comes out, but for now, at least for me, it's near useless.
     
  4. 840quadra thread starter Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #4
    File > Save As > Finder Plugin.

    I will try to save it as a script and see how it goes.

    I always save the workflow normally first, then make a new Finder widget to run from the contextual shortcut. My other scripts work in this way (some much more complicated) but for some reason this simple script has got me confused.

    I have had great luck with Automator until this script.

    [​IMG]
     
  5. PCheese macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    #5
    There are known bugs like this; it's a huge pain. You just have to wait until Apple fixes it... 10.4.3 hopefully?
     

Share This Page