Automator Help: Finder plugin lost.

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by RumMunkey, Feb 8, 2008.

  1. RumMunkey
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors 6502a

    RumMunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #1
    Hey all, I just wrote my first Automator action. I'm going to use it to make a copy of my iWeb website file from my flash disk to a local folder then eject the flash drive.

    It seems to work really well, so I saved it as an application. Cool, I can put it in the dock and run it from there, but then I thought there's gotta be a way to run it with a key combination or from a button or right-click from Finder (or even better from within iWeb).

    So I saved it as a Finder Plugin.

    But know I don't know where that plugin went. It's not in Finder anywhere, under any of the menus, on my right-click context menu... I don't think "save as Finder Plugin" does what I thought it does.

    What does it do, and where did my plugin go?

    Also, where can I save my action that I can get to it faster? Can I create a scripts menu in iWeb and run it from there?
     
  2. xUKHCx
    Expand Collapse
    Administrator emeritus

    xUKHCx

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2006
    Location:
    The Kop
    #2
    The plugins appear here

    Picture 4.png

    And is stored here

    /Users/username/Library/Workflows/Applications/Finder/yourpluginname.workflow

    You can give it a keyboard shortcut like in the picture above by going to

    System Preferences - Keyboard & Mouse- Keyboard Shortcuts - +

    then

    Application = All Applications
    Menu Title = Your exact workflow name, i.e. for m example "Rename" without the quotes
    Keyboard Shortcut = whatever you want just make sure it is unique.

    Or you could look into Do Something When (if that is still going)
     
  3. RumMunkey
    Expand Collapse
    thread starter macrumors 6502a

    RumMunkey

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2006
    Location:
    Canada
    #3
    Thanks! I may give that a try. Though while I was waiting, I did find the Computer Scripts folder and tucked it in there. That seems like an easy way to access it from iWeb (since I don't need to click out of the app, I can just mouse up to the menu bar).

    I do like the idea of a key-combo though. How can I ensure what I choose is unique? Will it warn me if I pick something that's being used elsewhere?
     
  4. martincreative
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    #4
    ShortCut Problems

    I tried creating a shortcut like was explained but wasn't able to get it to work? I have created and saved a plugin for finder in Automator - and it works great - but the shorcut I tried to create in system prefs isn't seeming to do anything. Thoughts?
     
  5. JP89Hornet
    Expand Collapse
    macrumors regular

    JP89Hornet

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Location:
    Aggieland
    #5
    Is there a way to move it to the initial shortcut menu instead of having to navigate to More, Automator, Click?
     

Share This Page