Automator with photoshop, etc

Discussion in 'macOS' started by pulsewidth947, May 28, 2005.

  1. pulsewidth947 macrumors 65816

    pulsewidth947

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Location:
    squarefrog.co.uk
    #1
    So i've seen photoshop actions around for photoshop, but how exactly can you create Automator actions/workflows with programs not on offer in the menu?

    The help files only confuse me more by stating third party applications can be automated providing they give support for applescript, but it doesnt tell you how to actually use this!

    Any ideas?
     
  2. neildmitchell macrumors 6502a

    neildmitchell

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    #2
    I would like to know the answer also. I was really excited about Automator, but then found its not very useful at all, way too simple and limited.

    I was hoping to automate workflows such as spreadsheet values to text boxes in multipage Quark and InDesign files (Catalogs).
    I have had problems writting my own script for things such as this, Im not a programmer,and the application dictionaries are not much help to the non-programmers. Books, either too simple and vauge or way too F! techie ... :(
     
  3. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #3
    I believe the program's creators need to create these hooks or abilities for Automator to access in order to use it in that context... though I don't have any experience with it really.
     
  4. pulsewidth947 thread starter macrumors 65816

    pulsewidth947

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Location:
    squarefrog.co.uk
    #4
    if thats the case then howcome there are laods of PS automator actions available.

    After researching, I'm guessing these are acheived my using AppleScript. AppleScript is fairly uncomplicated, except I cant figure out how to use it with Automator!

    This is a little dissapointing as I got Tiger so I wouldnt have to do repetative tasks, but I still end up doing them as, like neildmitchell says, Automator is far too limited..

    I'll let you guys know if I find anything.

    EDIT - in the mean time - download the CS actions from http://www.completedigitalphotography.com/index.php?p=339 and drop em into your ~\Library\Automator\ folder (create it if you dont ahve it) then at least you get access to some Photoshop actions
     
  5. Abstract macrumors Penryn

    Abstract

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2002
    Location:
    Location Location Location
    #5
    I wouldn't mind doing some repetitive photo editing in GraphicConverter, a program that Apple includes with all Macs anyway, but Automator doesn't even support Apple's included applications! They should do that, at least, even if they didn't make GraphicConverter themselves.
     
  6. pulsewidth947 thread starter macrumors 65816

    pulsewidth947

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2005
    Location:
    squarefrog.co.uk
    #6
    I've come to the conclusion taht in order to support third party applications with Automator, you have to code your own support in, using AppleScripting.

    Here is the link to Apples Automator programming guide.

    I dont think i'll bother with that till i get my Powerbook and I can code outside in the sunshine!
     

Share This Page