Automounting remote volumns

Discussion in 'macOS' started by SMM, Oct 1, 2006.

  1. SMM macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #1
    I have no problem connecting and manually mounting shares on other Mac's, or Windows machines. However, I have to manually mount them after each boot. I have looked for an option to automatically mount them, but have not found it. Do I have to make an entry in vfstab or something similar? Thanks.
     
  2. WildCowboy Administrator/Editor

    WildCowboy

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2005
    #2
    You should be able to automount them by adding the AFP addresses to your Login Items.
     
  3. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #3
    The simplest way to do so is to manually mount the drive, then open System Preferences...->Accounts->[your account]->Login items, then drag the disk icon from your desktop onto the Login Items list.

    Cake.
     
  4. SMM thread starter macrumors 65816

    SMM

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2006
    Location:
    Tiger Mountain - WA State
    #4
    jsw - wild cowboy

    Yes, that did the trick nicely! I do appreciate your taking time to help. I was looking in all the wrong places - still being de-windowized.
     
  5. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #5
    makes you wonder why Windows doesn't work that way, doesn't it? :)
     
  6. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #6
    Well, in all fairness, lots of "easy" OS X tricks are easy only once you know them and aren't particularly easy to figure out on your own.
     
  7. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #7
    that's true. Though I'm working toward my MCSE, so I'm spending a lot of time with Windows, and I'm just amazed at how unnecessarily complicated (and downright un-intuitive) it is.

    here's a potential poll question:
    how does Windows compare to OSX in terms of the "learning curve?" Is OSX easier or more difficult to figure out than XP?
     
  8. jsw Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #8
    My parents seem equally adept (or inept) at both, and so I'd guess that they're about equally easy (or hard) to learn - at least to get to the point of knowing what you need to know for day-to-day "normal" usage.
     

Share This Page