.avi on a mac

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by wrinkster22, Nov 20, 2011.

  1. macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #1
    First off I am not sure if this is the right thread but it is the best I think for my question.
    Okay,
    So basically I have a macbook air and a windows server and two windows PC's. When i try to access the PC's from finder it is great- I can browse my photos, music, etc.
    But today i decided to test our 6tb server. When I try to play a tv show I get this message: "QuickTime Player can't open "The.Big.Bang.Theory.S01E08.The.Grasshopper.Experiment.avi" because a required codec isn't available."
    So these files end in .avi so I decided to download this: http://www.divx.com/en/software/mac
    This did nothing.
    So basically what can I do to run my .avi files on my mac?
    Also how would I copy some of my favourites to iTunes?
    thanks :)
     
  2. macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #2
    VLC will play them, you can download it here:

    http://www.videolan.org/

    And for .avi files you want to put in to iTunes, you *may* be able to just drag them in there but I think you will need to convert them first using something like Handbrake which you can get here:

    http://handbrake.fr/
     
  3. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #3
    To play .avi files in QT Player, you need Perian, but that won't help in iTunes, as you need a .mov or .mp4 file using the H.264 codec for that. You can use HandBrake to transcode the .avi files to that format, or learn to use another software to play .avi files.
    I use Movist for that, but I don't need an iTunes like interface.

    Maybe have a look at Advanced Search to find similar threads:
    [​IMG]
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #4
    yeah :) now i can watch it... now i just tap with 2 fingers and select 'play with vlc media player'. I already have handbrake so I will try that :) I require iTunes btw to sync them to my iPod
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #5
    Okay,
    so I hand braked it into a .m4v and I can not drag it into iTunes... How could I drag it into iTunes?
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    What preset did you use?

    Maybe try the iPod or iPhone & iPod touch preset?
    [​IMG]
     
  7. macrumors 604

    chrono1081

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Location:
    Isla Nublar
    #7
    I am no expert in formats but I rip my stuff to the Apple TV 2 preset and they drag right in.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    obsidian1200

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2010
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    #8
    Aside from files that use the .mkv extension or the VP3 video codec, the OP should be able to drag any files produced by handbrake into iTunes. It'll even take the android optimized presets.

    @OP, have you tried going to File>Add to Library... to add the file? Sometimes the drag and drop method can be a bit finicky with iTunes.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #9
    thanks everyone. It is working now..
     
  10. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Location:
    Belgium
    #10
    I've seen you got the trick to put them in your iTunes library but if you just want to play avi's in Quicktime, download Flip4Mac WMV

    that or Perian. Can't recall which one of the two it was.
     
  11. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
    Perian has already been mentioned and linked to three weeks ago.

    Flip4Mac is for playing .wmv (Windows Media Video) files in QT Player.
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2011
    Location:
    Belgium
    #12
    Oh was it, sorry. Didn't notice it
     
  13. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2010
    #13
  14. thread starter macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #14
    Thanks everyone.. Just a little update.
    I have ripped several shows of our server and put them on my new external HD (WD, My Passport 500gb)
    I am having a little trouble though ripping dvd's on our pc useing handbrake could anyone help me with this?
     
  15. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #15
    Maybe use an actual ripper before you use HandBrake (which doesn't really "rip" the video, it just transcodes the video and uses a VLC component to circumvent the copy protection scheme) like DVD Decrypter, though it might not work on modern Windows versions.
     
  16. thread starter macrumors 68030

    wrinkster22

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2011
    Location:
    Toronto
    #16
    Thanks... This is what I did...
    Download RipIt (you get 10 free rips)
    put the disk in external Superdrive
    Drag file into external hard drive.

    Thank you everyone!
     
  17. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2011
    #17
    Ripit is a great product. Worth the $
     

Share This Page