AVi to DVD bad quality? Need help

Discussion in 'Mac Apps and Mac App Store' started by shinta, Aug 10, 2005.

1. shinta macrumors newbie

Hi there.

I'm fairly new to this so I hope someone can help me. I have some avi files that work perfectly on my computer (I installed the righ codecs) and I dragged it into toast and burnt a dvd (for home DVD player, nothing fancy) but I noticed when I went to even play it on my computer the quality is pretty average, not like it was as the avi file, the sounds seemed alright. Can anyone tell me the proper way to burn this? I have downloaded ffmpegX but wouldn't have a clue how to use it (if that's even what I should use?) I have read things about using IDVD or Imovie but I am such a novice I wouldn't know what to do. Also the movie is 45 mins long but seemed to take up 70% of the DVD, shouldn't I be able to get about 2hours worth on it? If anyone can take me step by step through this it would be great.

Many Thanks

2. gekko513 macrumors 603

gekko513

I'm only able to give some thoughts on your last question. If you're burning regular single layer DVDs, I think they will have only half the capacity of commercial movie DVDs, which are double layer.

3. numediaman macrumors 6502a

1) ffmpegx is not to difficult if you read the install directions REALLY carefully. You need to download a couple of other files to go along with it -- there are links to those files on the ffmpegx page. Keep those downloaded files on your desktop, you will need them when the time comes to install ffmpegx.

2) iMovie and iDVD are really easy programs. Here are a couple of observations, though. First, importing files into iMovie can be a bit of a pain because it takes so long for the program to import them. The reason for this is that iMovie allows you to edit files without "rendering" them. If you don't know what that means, don't worry about it.