Avid Announces Media Composer 7 and Pro Tools 11, iOS Compatible Recording Hardware

Discussion in 'MacRumors.com News Discussion' started by MacRumors, Apr 8, 2013.

  1. macrumors bot

    MacRumors

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2001
    #1
    [​IMG]


    Avid today announced new versions of its flagship video editing and audio production applications Media Composer 7 and Pro Tools 11, as well as two new Mac- and iOS- compatible hardware interfaces for recording audio at home or on the road.

    In addition to a number of new features, Media Composer 7 receives a significant price cut, bringing the standard edition to $1000, down from $2500. It will be available in June.

    ProTools 11, which Avid says "represents a quantum leap in creative power", gains a redesigned audio engine and 64-bit architecture. The standard edition of Pro Tools 11 is available for $700, with upgrades ranging from $300 to $500 depending on which previous version of Pro Tools is owned. The new version should be available later this quarter.

    [​IMG]
    The Avid Fast Track Solo and Duo include Pro Tools Express for recording and editing audio on a Mac, and also connect directly to the 30-pin connector on older iOS-hardware, and to newer iOS devices via the 30-Pin to Lightning adapter.

    The Solo provides one mic preamp and one instrument input, while the Duo provides two mic preamp/instrument inputs, and two line inputs.
    The Fast Track Solo and Duo are available now for $180 and $300 respectively.

    Article Link: Avid Announces Media Composer 7 and Pro Tools 11, iOS Compatible Recording Hardware
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    kemal

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Location:
    Nebraska
    #2
    Great to see this stuff coming around. Is there any issue with lag using the 30 pin to Lightning adaptor?
     
  3. MRU
    macrumors demi-god

    MRU

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2005
    Location:
    Ireland
    #3
    Great, now come on Apple give us some Logic Pro love too. Pretty please....


    (Those ProTools 11 licences are damn pricy even for upgrade of ProTools 10)
     
  4. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #4
    At last! Now if Apple (hopefully) has a new Mac Pro around the same time I'll be set!
     
  5. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    #5
    Interface with Garageband?
     
  6. macrumors 6502a

    SmileyBlast!

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    #6
    Awesome.
     
  7. macrumors 68030

    Drumjim85

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Location:
    DFW, TX
    #7
    FML, this is the EOL for for millions of TDM cards. And if the price wasn't hurting you bad enough for an upgrade, the lack of plugins converting over to the new AAX will be.
     
  8. benspratling, Apr 8, 2013
    Last edited: Apr 8, 2013

    macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2006
    #8
    quantum leap?

    confused quantum "leap" with quantum tunneling.
     
  9. macrumors 601

    Icaras

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Location:
    California, United States
    #9
    So we now have Digital Performer 8, Ableton Live 9, and Pro Tools 11...

    And yet still, Logic Pro X hasn't been released. :mad:
     
  10. macrumors 68020

    Xavier

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Location:
    Columbus
    #10
    As a Avid user, this is great news!
     
  11. Editor emeritus

    longofest

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2003
    Location:
    Falls Church, VA
    #11
    Overkill a bit?
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2012
    #12
    I don't care that my old TDM cards are dead with this version.

    I don't mind waiting for updates for some of my favorite plugins.

    OFF
    LINE
    BOUNCING

    I have a stiffy under the desk at work just thinking about it.
     
  13. macrumors 68020

    jayducharme

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2006
    Location:
    The thick of it
    #13
    Avid is a bit late to the game with this. There are several other iOS audio options with more to offer. Avid should have gone with native Lightning support to differentiate themselves from the competition.
     
  14. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2012
    Location:
    Toronto
    #14
    pretty sure the $599 upgrade for offline bouncing is all anyone who uses this day in day out cares about. everything else is fluff.
     
  15. macrumors 601

    Tilpots

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2006
    Location:
    Carolina Beach, NC
    #15
    Unfamiliar with the latest. What are some other reccommended iOS audio recording devices?
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    chirpie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #16
    Let's hear it for competition.

    I'll admit, I had completely forgotten that the previous version of AVID Protools was still 32-bit.

    I'll be interested to see how the speed differences play out in real world scenarios.
     
  17. macrumors newbie

    DevoAtari

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #17

    TDM is too old an architecture for 32-bit, even; and there should be a serious overhaul... But I agree there should at least be some support for an exchange or upgrade program. Avid should give incentive for manufacturers of older plug-ins to upgrade to AAX. Like Sonic NoNoise for instance... There's a good chance that will never be upgraded to AAX.
     
  18. macrumors 68000

    iGrip

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2010
    #18

    I'd be happy for him to ignore Glenn Beck and to use his guitar much more often. Jeff beck is one of the all-time greats on electric guitar.
     
  19. macrumors newbie

    DevoAtari

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2013
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    #19
    I'm glad that they've finally come out with a 64-bit version, but I'm pretty pissed at the cost of upgrade. I understand that it's 100% new code; but back with Pro Tools 7|HD, it only cost $300 to upgrade to 8|HD, which incidentally came with a free upgrade to 9|HD... So, $1000???? I know 7|HD was $800 brand new, and you had to buy HD|Accel card(s), and there is something to say for inflation... But an upgrade... For $1000?? Jiminy H. Criminy!
     
  20. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    #20
    Nice to see they finally have these features, but they're the last major DAW to go 64 bit (over three years ago for Logic), and all the others have been doing offline bouncing for years. Not much else listed, so this mostly looks like a release catching up to the other DAWs. I guess they also are hyping "more power" but that sounds like they just fixed up the native plugin processing which has never been particularly efficient. And along with that comes loss of compatibility of plugin formats and plenty of hardware - it's a painful and expensive road being a PT user these days.
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    chirpie

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2010
    #21
    It does have a sort of Quark Xpress redux vibe to it. ;-)
     
  22. macrumors 6502a

    Schizoid

    Joined:
    May 29, 2008
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    Agreed, if there's something decent to run it on, I'll be very happy!
     
  23. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    #23
    I'm not a Pro-Tools user, but to be honest given the way they've treated users of their other software (Sibelius specifically) I wouldn't throw any more money at upgrades to anything Avid still owns at this stage.
     
  24. macrumors 68020

    Squilly

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2012
    Location:
    PA
    #24
    That's one hell of a price cut...
     
  25. macrumors 604

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2003
    #25
    Which is great for new users but a bit scary for a company with such big financial problems.
     

Share This Page