B&W mouse problems

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by stithyoshi, Oct 24, 2005.

  1. stithyoshi macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    #1
    I just got my B&W G3 400/ 128M ram/ 4G hdd (I know, crappy specs, whatcha gonna do? :p) up and running with a third party (don't reamember the brand) DVD burner in it so that I could install OS 10.2.4 from DVD. The installation goes fine, I just start ist up, run Disk Tools to wipe my whole drive and install. Simple.
    Or is it? Every single time I boot the computer up after installing OS X, no matter what mouse I use, the mouse isn't detected. It doesn't detect clicks, it doesn't detect movement, nothing. I know the mouse SHOULD work, because it worked just fine when i was installing OS X, but now i'm not getting anything (my keyboard still works, too) any ideas?
     
  2. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #2
    Have you tried a different port? It doesn't sound like a faulty port, but try it anyway.
     
  3. stithyoshi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    #3
    yeah, tried that already. I've tried using an off brand wireless mouse, an IBM wired optical mouse, a microsoft wireless optical mouse, and my neghbor's apple pro mouse, tired in both ports. I have no idea what's going on. Worked fine during install, remember? Just for reference, i have no other Mac OS to roll back to. Thanks for the thought, tho.
     
  4. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #5
    It does.

    Reboot while holding Option, and it'll ask you to select a boot volume. See whether the mouse works at this screen.
     
  5. stithyoshi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    #6
    thanks. I'll have to try this when i get home (I'm at school right now in Japan, so it's about noon here :p) I think I remember what key is the option key on my keyoard... I'm using a logitech USB keyboard for PS2, 'cause that's the only USB keyboard i could find on the states, and i have to press ''logitech button" + something else like ALT or something and O + F to boot into open firmware. Yeah, it gets a little confusing, but it works. I thought that only firewire bootable macs had the boot menu? oh well, I'll know when I try :p
     
  6. Nermal Moderator

    Nermal

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    New Zealand
    #7
    Oh, you might be right there - I jumped straight from an old 603 right up to an 800 MHz G3 so I don't know what happened in between.
     
  7. stithyoshi thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2005
    #8
    Nope, i thought right. I tried all three keys that could be option and nothing, so this G3 doesn't have the boot menu. I don't think it's the mac itself, but you never know. I also attempted boting without the mouse and then hotplugging it and i still get nothing... alternatively, does anyone know how to use keyboard navigation in the setup program? I can go up and down the language selection box with the keyboard, but i can't hit the "continue" button
     

Share This Page