B&W PowerMac, iTunes server and TV

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by JimboG1, Nov 28, 2005.

  1. JimboG1 macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Location:
    London, UK
    #1
    Folks, I could do with some help with my B&W G3 PowerMac problem.

    I recently acquired an old but serviceable B&W PowerMac (not sure if it's rev.1 or rev. 2 at the moment) and I want to use it as an iTunes server to my stereo in my living room. It has standard sound and video components. i.e. VGA-out and stereo-jack out.

    I would like to use my TV (PAL, rather than NTSC) as an occasional monitor to avoid an ugly CRT in my living room. Also, it would be nice to have two-channel audio (red and black, not sure of the technical name) to hook up the the stereo to make the sound passable.

    Is there such a thing as a "personality card" for a B&W tower? This would be ideal as it combines both audio and video and I could get on eBay pretty cheaply. However, I'm getting conflicting info about this...some say such a card will work with B&W tower, some only with Beige G3.

    Is there anyone out there who can clarify for me?

    Otherwise, any suggestions on how I can (cheaply) get this G3 hooked up to my TV and my stereo? They would be much appreciated.

    Cheers

    James
     
  2. untamedhysteria macrumors regular

    untamedhysteria

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    #2
    well for the audio, you could use the airport express, but it's not cheap..for the living room hookup, you can use a svideo converter (search apple store) for displaying your mac on the tv. the quality isn't good though, as the resolution change makes text kinda blurry, but is good for gaming.
     
  3. 840quadra Moderator

    840quadra

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2005
    Location:
    Twin Cities Minnesota
    #3
    I have a setup doing exactly what you are trying to do, with the exception that it is actually not using the TV.

    The last G3 Powermac with the option of a Personality card was the final beige G3 tower. The G3 B&W can however accept PCI RCA or S-Video out cards that are compatible with apple, and OS-X.

    You can try a VGA to RCA/S-Video cable.

    [​IMG]


    For Audio, you will want a minijack > RCA splitter cable.

    [​IMG]

    or a Minijack to RCA port converter.

    [​IMG]
     
  4. SmurfBoxMasta macrumors 65816

    SmurfBoxMasta

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2005
    Location:
    I'm only really here at night.
    #4



    You could also check into Radeon Mac 7000 or 9200 pci video cards, both are affordable on ebay, make sure they have the S-video out connector. Some even have DVI, which will work even better if your TV has a DVI input (digital output, better quality).

    The cables shown above will work also for analog output, which is fine if you have an older TV.

    For the audio, cables/splitters will work, but pci card will give more/better options & quality. Check www.M-Audio.com

    good luck :D
     
  5. JimboG1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Location:
    London, UK
    #5
    Woah!

    You guys are great! Thanks so much! I've been away (from www anyway) and come back to all this useful advice.:D

    I didn't mention that my TV's pretty old (although good quality Sony) and only has SCART-in and, errrr, the three red, yellow and white seemingly analogue sockets. Sorry, not that up on TV tech. i don't think it has s-video are certainly not DVI. anyway, I shall experiment and see what I can achieve.

    Jimbo
     
  6. JimboG1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Location:
    London, UK
    #6
    Hang on, maybe I do have s-video

    I was just surfing to find out my TV spec, and it seems to be either a Sony KV-29F3 or a KV-25F3. pic is the same anyway. Spec tells me there is s-video, but I don't recall a single s-video port.

    http://www.newchannels.demon.co.uk/ncweb/sony43tv.htmv

    Could it be that the three seemingly analog ports on the pront make-up an s-video connect?

    Thanks again

    Jimbo
     
  7. JimboG1 thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2002
    Location:
    London, UK
    #7
    So I do have s-video

    OK people, I do have a single s-video port on my TV. :rolleyes:

    I shall let you know how I get on with my iTunes server mission.

    Jimbo
     

Share This Page