Backing Up to a new Machine

Discussion in 'iMac' started by carfac, Sep 27, 2006.

  1. carfac macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #1
    Hi:

    I MAY be getting rid of one iMac for a different one. Problem is, I won't have both at the same time, so I cannot firewire the transfer of data. I do have a B/U drive with plenty of room, though.

    What is the best wat to transfer? Should I just copy each home directory in full? I have Back-up 3, but I think that will only work for one account, right?

    What to do????

    Dave
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
  3. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #4
    I use Carbon Copy Cloner (see versiontracker.com). It ain't fast but it does get the whole drive and all accounts.
     
  4. carfac thread starter macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #5
    Thanks for the helpp- I grabbed iBackup by Grapefruit. Seems pretty good, and pretty quick. 100 gigs already done!

    Anything special I should know on the other end? Just start it up, get the updates installed, Set up the same names user acounts, and move the data back in? Or are there some handy tips some of you will part with?

    D
     
  5. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #6
    yeesh...I guess I'm a bit late on the post, but:

    I would've made an image copy of the HD and just stored that on the FW drive. I believe if you did this (someone correct me if I'm wrong) you could just copy the image onto the new HD and it'd be like you just yanked the HD out of your old machine and plugged it into your new one.
     
  6. carfac thread starter macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #7
    So, to do the image thing, you would have to boot from DVD???:confused:
     
  7. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #8
    assuming it would work at all, yea you'd have to boot from CD or DVD and then drag the image over to the HD, since you can't write over the current system folder.
     
  8. carfac thread starter macrumors 65816

    carfac

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2006
    #9
    Beatsme...

    So, you suggest soimething that may... or may not work? Not very helpful, or nice. I think you can assume that when someone asks for help, they want techniques that work, not that just sound good... :mad:
     
  9. nagromme macrumors G5

    nagromme

    Joined:
    May 2, 2002
    #10
    He's giving you something to look into though.
     
  10. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #11
    I'm doing it this weekend. When it works like a charm and I haven't had to bother with 3rd party software, I'll post back ;)
     
  11. DamoRed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    #12
    Sorry if this is seen as hijacking the thread...

    What actually happens when the migration takes place to the new computer? Is the old system wiped completely or is it only just copying everything across?

    I'd still want to keep everything on my previous system as a back up, so is that possible? I'm thinking specifically about my iTunes library and applications such as Photoshop which require activation

    Thank you


    Damo
     
  12. beatsme macrumors 65816

    beatsme

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    #13
    it just copies, and it grabs all the hidden files too, so you don't have to re-register your software. The original HD is left completely intact.
     
  13. DamoRed macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006

Share This Page