Backing up Xbox/PS2 games

Discussion in 'Games' started by Wild Ace, Oct 21, 2005.

  1. Wild Ace macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #1
    Hey everyone. Can someone please help me with my PS2 and Xbox backups? Can Toast Titanium do the trick? I have Toast, and I also have a Lacie DVD burner. Sorry, I'm a noob.
     
  2. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #2
    I dont know if there is any OSX software which can do this (i have no superdrive) but Nero on Windows can burn Xbox games no problem. they have to be a UDF+ISO with Forced Xbox Compatibility ticked for them to work at all. obviously a modded/chipped Xbox is needed.

    not sure about PS2.
     
  3. greatdevourer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    #3
    PS2 DVDs are just DVDs with summat added to auth them. You'll need a mod chip (for PS2, I used the DSM4 EZI - the only solderless PS2 chip out there - be warned, the solder points on the PS2 are fscking small, and if you screw 1 up, you have a dead PS2), and I'd recommend using a HDD (for PS2, you'll need one of the pre-slim ones and a network adapter), as you won't need to burn them - just use programs usually already on the chip to add it to the HDD (I'd recommend at least an 80GB one)
     
  4. Dagless macrumors Core

    Dagless

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Location:
    Fighting to stay in the EU
    #4
    if the point of chipping a console and copying games is to save money then wouldn't a network adapter and Sony HDD AND a chip cost a hellofalotta money?
     
  5. greatdevourer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    #5
    How is backing up games saving money? Plus, it's easier (no disk swapping) and games load a hell of a lot faster (TS2 loadings of 15 seconds fall to around 4)
     
  6. Wild Ace thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    #6
    So backed up games load slower? If that's the case, I'll just keep a close eye on my games, hehehe. Do you also lose quality in the copy, such as in graphics?
     
  7. greatdevourer macrumors 68000

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2005
    #7
    You cannot lose any quality. It's digital, not analogue. And any optical disk will load slower than a harddrive, because, iirc, the bandwidth of the PS2 drive is about 12Mbps, whereas the bandwidth you can get from an IDE HDD is 30-40Mbps
     

Share This Page