Bad airport extreme card?

Discussion in 'Macintosh Computers' started by vkapoormd, Aug 10, 2004.

1. vkapoormd macrumors member

For the past few weeks, i have had trouble connecting my Powerbook (15" Alu, 1.25ghz) with my D link router (DI 624); after my computer has been asleep or away for a few hours, i come home and try to connect and my computer tells me there was "an error joining the selected network", despite it being displayed on the airport menu of available networks; on the flip side, i am easily able to connect to my airport express module (which i use primarily for streaming itunes) at any time. I have changed out the router for a new one, but the problem persists. the only way i can fix it is to unplug the router for a few seconds and then plug it back it in; my powerbook then easily joins the D link network. This is strange considering i have been using this router for several months previously. :confused:

2. michaelrjohnson macrumors 68020

This actually happens to me periodically with my Netgear wireless router... My only solution is to unplug the router, then plug it back in, wait, and then it works. However, I have been in situations where I have not been using *my* router, and dont' have access to it. Therefore, when this happens, I am out of luck. No amount of restarting/logging in/out will work.

Solution? :confused:

3. seamuskrat macrumors 6502a

seamuskrat

Go to the DLink support page. Make sure you have the LATEST Firmware for your model. Often the Air Port Extreme cards are very sensitive to the firmware in DLink and LinkSys routers.

Also, in general, DLink has a less than stellar reputation for proven reliability with its routers.

Odds are you can help matters with a firmware update. And if that does not help, I would think its more to blame on the Dlink device than the card.

4. MacFi macrumors newbie

Similar

I was getting something similar.