Bad Memory (Dual G5)?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by methodmano, Jun 3, 2007.

  1. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #1
    I have a dual 2.0GHz G5 with 2.5 GB PC3200 RAM (4x512MB & 2x256MB). Once in a while the machine will just turn off. If I try to reboot, then it gets to the grey screen with the wheel and then just shuts off. It will only boot all the way if I reseat the RAM. I ran memtest in single-user mode on each pair separately and they all passed. It's not a huge deal as it doesn't happen that often (maybe once every other week), but it is kind of annoying. I'm not sure I can test the RAM by using different combinations since it doesn't happen all the time. Besides this the machine runs fine. Any suggestions? Thanks!
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #2
    Try removing all the ram except for 2 sticks and run it like that for a few weeks, then add 2 more etc.etc.

    FJ
     
  3. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #3
    Thanks for the response. I was hoping to avoid running my machine on a smaller amount of RAM for a couple of weeks.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #4
    Things will slow down a tad, but if it helps identify the problem it will be worth it.

    Personally i always use Crucial ram, and (touch wood) never had a problem.

    Good luck :cool:

    FJ
     
  5. macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #5
    This is just a guess, but ---

    A complete and sudden power down or black screen is NOT characteristic of failing RAM. If RAM is failing you would expect to get freezes or kernal panics, or three beeps on boot up.

    Sudden shut down is more likely power supply or logic board, perhaps heat-related. The fact it works after reseating RAM is either coincidence, or the act of reseating the RAM is doing something else -- like flexing the motherboard -- which is changing something unrelated to the RAM.
     
  6. macrumors 68020

    Father Jack

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Ireland
    #6
    I do hope it isn't the logic board. I had to replace a logic board in a iBook and it was seriously expensive :(

    FJ
     
  7. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2004
    #7
    Definitely not excited about the logic board having an issue. I thought that might be a problem, but I was hoping someone could point me to some other issue.
     

Share This Page