Bandwith Question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by DarkNetworks, Aug 6, 2005.

  1. DarkNetworks macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #1
    I'm running a router, a D-Link non wireless router.i'm basically sharing my network connection between two systems, a mac and a windows system.I'm wondering if there is any possiblilities for me to get more bandwith than the windows system.is there anything i can do to my router or anything to get more bandwith compared to the windows system?
     
  2. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #2
    A little more information would be helpful. Do you mean you'd like the Mac to get priority when both computers are doing connection-saturating activities? I don't think most consumer routers have this sort of load-balancing built in.
     
  3. DarkNetworks thread starter macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #3
    Yeah i basically want the Mac to get priority in the bandwith.If possible, is there any soltuion to limit the bandwith for like i mean spread how many Kbps to each system?Lets say the total the ISP will supply is like 512Kbps, and i'll set my mac to recieve a max of 500 and the remaining 12 for the Windows system, is it possible to do that?
     
  4. killmoms macrumors 68040

    killmoms

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    Washington, DC
    #4
    You'd have to look in the documentation for your router, as that would be a router-based thing, not a local machine type deal. I don't believe that kind of load balancing is possible in consumer routers. My suggestion would be if you're doing things that can be software-limited on the Windows machine (BitTorrent springs to mind, though I shouldn't make assumptions), limit there as much as you can. Otherwise, I've got nothing.
     
  5. DarkNetworks thread starter macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #5
    Nah, i'm actually kinda frustrated experiencing low bandwith cos i'm always on my mac and my cousin constantly on the other hand plays online games on the windows system, surf the net and downloading stuffs at the same time...so i was wondering if i can do something to enjoy better bandwith... :(
     
  6. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #6
    You'll need a high-end or gaming router to do this. Many more expensive routers can allow you to give priority by IP, Port, ect. The standard router cannot do this.
     
  7. DarkNetworks thread starter macrumors 68000

    DarkNetworks

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2005
    #7
    Oh..ok...however, can i block connection? I mean if i wanna specificly block the computer from recieving any connection, can it be done? If yes, how?
     
  8. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #8
    Turn on MAC filtering and only put in your MAC address. Or just unplug the cable.
     

Share This Page