Base RAM enough for a MacBook?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Totty, May 24, 2006.

  1. Totty macrumors member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    #1
    So, I hear a lot of people say that Apple made a mistake with the base ram of the MacBook...but what all can you really do with it?
    If I'm trying to keep the total price of my purchase down for now...would waiting on a ram upgrade be something I could do?
     
  2. Eidorian macrumors Penryn

    Eidorian

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2005
    Location:
    Indianapolis
    #2
    *sigh* What programs and how many simultaneous ones are you going to run? Hell, Apple includes the answer to this in the "Learn more" section under Memory.
     
  3. faintember macrumors 65816

    faintember

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2005
    Location:
    the ruins of the Cherokee nation
    #3
    The base RAM install is fine for word processing, running iTunes, Mail, iChat and the like. Just do not expect to have 8 programs running at the same time with no slowdown. I would not wait for a MB RAM update from Apple. Most people on here will advise to buy the MB and then upgrade the RAM from a reliable 3rd party RAM vendor that guarantees compatibility with Apple products.
     
  4. bodeh6 macrumors 6502a

    bodeh6

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    #4
    I would get at least 1GB if you are going to be running a couple of programs. I might get 2GB from Datamem for less then $250.
     
  5. chrisgeleven macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2002
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    #5
    I am currently using 512mb on my Macbook (2 GB arrives tomorrow!) and it is alright for most everyday tasks.

    Don't expect to run more then a couple of applications or more then 1 heavy application. I was starting to run into slowdowns after having Firefox, Adiumx, iTunes, Gizmo, and iPhoto running at the same time.
     

Share This Page