Basic iMac 17inch question

Discussion in 'Mac Basics and Help' started by reykjavik, Jul 8, 2005.

  1. reykjavik macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2004
    #1
    Can I use my G5 17inch iMac as a monitor for other things? (like another computer for instance...)
     
  2. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #2
    This has been covered before. In one word, "No".
     
  3. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #3
    Nope. Too bad the G5 iMacs can't double as displays. :(
     
  4. grapes911 Moderator emeritus

    grapes911

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2003
    Location:
    Citizens Bank Park
    #4
    Why is this too bad? A lot of people have asked this same question so I guess many people would like to do this, but why?
     
  5. rainman::|:| macrumors 603

    rainman::|:|

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2002
    Location:
    iowa
    #5
    I don't get it either-- I never tried to use the windshield in my car to see out of other cars, why would I use my iMac's display for other computers? THE REASON IMACS ARE CHEAP IS BECAUSE YOU LOSE FUNCTIONALITY like being able to swap monitors. You want it, get a PowerMac. :D
     
  6. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #6
    No real reason, aside from the fact they would make nice displays.
     
  7. MacDawg macrumors P6

    MacDawg

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Location:
    "Between the Hedges"
    #7
    Wouldn't it be cheaper and make more sense to just buy a 20 inch Cinema Display for $799 than a 17 inch iMac for $1299 to try and use as a display?

    What am I missing?

    Of course the 17 inch iMac functions as a computer... but that begs the question, if you have the computer, why do you need to hook another one to the monitor?

    I don't get it...

    Edit:
    In fact... here is a 17 inch Cinema display for $390.

    Woof, Woof - Dawg
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Plymouthbreezer macrumors 601

    Plymouthbreezer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Location:
    Massachusetts
    #8
    Not assuming you would buy an iMac just to use it as a display, but if it offered that functionality, it would be cool.

    Don't worry, it's nothing to lose sleep over. ;)
     
  9. sk8erboy macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2005
    #9
    i thought there was a hack for this.. or was it the double screen thingy that is hack-able?
     

Share This Page