Basic (probably dumb) Server question

Discussion in 'Mac OS X Server, Xserve, and Networking' started by drsox, May 20, 2012.

  1. macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #1
    I already have a 2011 MacBook Air but I am looking at either :

    1. Getting a new faster Mac with a GbLAN port (probably a MacBook Pro)
    or
    2. Getting a Mac Mini and running OSX Server on it (accessing from the existing MBA)

    The MBA that I have is plenty fast enough for everyday use but some file transfer tasks (from NAS_1 to NAS_2) are really slow when I'm copying 40GB video files from one to the other. Can I run the file transfer process on the Mac Mini Server without the files having to go to/from the MBA during the process. i.e just initiate/control the file transfer with the MBA ?

    So the data path I'm looking for is NAS_1>Mac Mini>NAS_2 and not NAS_1>Mac Mini>MBA>Mac Mini>NAS_2.

    All this will be done on the local in-house network (not over the internet)
     
  2. macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #2
    Yes, you don't need server, unless you want the faster processor and space for 2 drives.

    You can just share the mac mini screen on MBA, and then do things as if you are on the mini.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #3
    Thanks. Yes, I've been doing some more research and I can use some form of Remote Desktop to control the Mini (or anything else) from the MBA. Then I can run any app I chose (even Bootcamp ones) on the Mini.

    As I don't have any experience yet of any of this, can I do all this 100% remotely ? i.e. have the Mini in the attic (turned off) and be using the MBA in another room ? So I'll want to do : Wake On LAN, start, run app, switch Mini off ?
     
  4. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    #4
    If you google wake on LAN, some folks have had some trouble with Lion. I assume they're using a MacBook and closed the device where WOL doesn't seem to work. I'd do a little googling there, it seems there has been some headache around low-power-wake. I'd look at this thread:

    http://forums.macrumors.com/showthread.php?t=1195152

    To remotely shut it down (sleep is what I assume you mean), there are a number of methods including SSH and various apple script methods. You can google it or look here for an example.

    http://osxdaily.com/2012/03/14/remotely-sleep-mac/
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
  6. macrumors 6502

    kd5jos

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2007
    Location:
    Denver, CO
    #6
    Consider...

    I do exactly what you are describing all the time. The best tool I've found to have to control my MacMini Server is Remote Desktop. You can purchase it from the App store. It allows you to control the system like you were sitting in front of it, and you can drag and drop to/from it. Management is SO simple with Remote Desktop.

    Be careful though, once you have a server, you might get the "server bug." Every time I turn around I'm adding one more server function to it. I use it as a teamspeak server, an email server, media server, VPN server (I can VPN home and watch my movies), open Directory controller, domain controller, DNS, Squid server... I just keep adding one more thing... I'm in the process of setting up 802.1x, and may add an asterisk server after that. I have a static IP so it works well, but you can achieve the same thing with a dynamic IP and a service like DynDNS.
     
  7. macrumors G5

    Consultant

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2007
    #7
    Just have your Mini run 100% of the time. I use a dual PowerMac G4 for the same purposes.

    Don't turn it off. You can have it sleep IF set to static IP.
     
  8. drsox, May 23, 2012
    Last edited: May 23, 2012

    thread starter macrumors 65816

    drsox

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Location:
    Xhystos
    #8
    Cheers. Yes, I might just do that. To start with I just want a sort of "compute" server to complement the convenient-but-underpowered MBA plus some of the programmes I need to run will only run in Win7. So it will be operating Parallels as well.

    Will this conflict with any opportunity to run OSX server on it ?

    ----------

    I agree. The power drain will be minimal and I can set a static IP with an Airport Extreme that I have.

    Will the Mini respond to LAN commands if it is sleeping ? If it's going to be in the attic I have to operate it remotely.
     

Share This Page