Batch Save As filetype?

Discussion in 'Design and Graphics' started by eyeon, Dec 11, 2006.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Location:
    Montana, USA
    #1
    I've got a question that I feel should be an easy click of some button somewhere, but I can't seem to figure it out.

    Say I did a photoshoot for a wedding, and the newlyweds are very excited about seeing the results of my photoshoot as soon as possible, and want to send them to friends, etc. But say I shot the whole thing in camera RAW format, and they lack any kind of software that allows them to view CRW files... How would I batch process the whole entire shoot and save all as TIFFs or PDFs or even JPEGs? I tried to cook the files in Distiller, and it does not like camera raw and will not deal with files of that type.

    Now, same question, only with PSDs... How would I batch save a bunch of PSDs as TIFFs or PDFs or something of that nature?

    I feel like there should be an easy answer to this... any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks!
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #2
    There is an easy answer but it doesn't involve Distiller. :)

    You've got Photoshop, right? What you need to do is to set up a new action in the Actions palette that processes and saves a file how you want it. You just start it recording like a macro, do your thing, and then stop recording...

    Then, after the action is set-up, you then (in Photoshop) go to File>Automate>Batch. Choose your action, source and destination folders and any other settings, hit OK and then go play WoW until they're all done.
     
  3. macrumors 68020

    freeny

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2005
    Location:
    Location: Location:
    #3
    Nice Blue. Perhaps you can add your two cents on this thread...
     
  4. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Location:
    Montana, USA
    #4
    This is exactly what I needed. Problem solved. Thanks a ton!
     
  5. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #5
    Thought you guys had done such a swell job of it already. Do you have any idea how many times I've answered exactly the same question over the past 2 & 1/2 years here?
     
  6. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    #6
    There is an easy answer.

    What you need to do is to set up a new action in the Mac Rumors Actions palette that processes and submits a post how you want it. You just start it recording like a macro, do your thing, and then stop recording...

    Okay, that was a cheap joke. I just couldn't help myself. :D

    Snark
     
  7. Moderator emeritus

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    #7
    But not a bad one. Jokes, whether cheap or spendy, are much needed at the mo. ;)

    Gives me another thought, though... ;)
     

Share This Page