Battery Icon on G5?

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by chucksmac, Aug 8, 2004.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    #1
    I just set up my new dual 2.5 G5 and did the setup assistant transfer function. Everything worked perfect except for the the battery icon on the menu bar. What I mean is that there is a battery icon on the menu bar on a computer that has no real battery. I transferred the data from a titanium powerbook G4. I haven't tried dragging it off but I will in the morning. Has anyone encountered this?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    Finiksa

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Location:
    Australia
    #2
    That's not surprising, if you had a battery on the Powerbook and you used the new transfer utility included with new G5s then it'll transfer everything including menu items :rolleyes:
    Just command-drag it off the menu bar, what's the problem with that?
     
  3. macrumors 68030

    crazzyeddie

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2002
    Location:
    Florida, USA
    #3
    Makes sense to me. The OS still has the battery checking software in it, even on desktop Macs, so this was probably enabled because of a preferences file that was transfered from your Titanium.
     
  4. macrumors 6502a

    jackieonasses

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Location:
    the great OKLAHOMA....
    #4
    this is the first time i have said this but


    a portable G5 tower!!! with a car battery to handle all those fans! TRULY PORTABLE POWERBOOK~!
     
  5. macrumors 6502a

    RGunner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2002
    Location:
    Midnight Sun
    #5
    UPS?

    My G5 has a battery icon, reads the UPS charge and time remaining when AC is cut... very nice.
     
  6. macrumors 65816

    Darwin

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2003
    Location:
    round the corner
    #6
    If you've copied the settings theres the possibility that Software Update will deliver Laptop updates (Battery Updates, hardware etc) , keep an eye out :p
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2004
    #7
    Thanks for the responses, I'll try them in the morning when I get to my office.

    C.
     
  8. jsw
    Moderator emeritus

    jsw

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Location:
    Andover, MA
    #8
    As you probably know, you drag it off the menu bar with a command-drag (i.e., command button + mouse drag).

    Also, RGunner, very interesting about the UPS! I'll have to check that out when I get home!
     

Share This Page