Battery Indicator stuck at "Calculating"

Discussion in 'MacBook Pro' started by AlexGFX88, Jan 21, 2007.

  1. AlexGFX88 macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    #1
    Anyone have this? CoconutBattery says it's 100% and when I plug my power cord in I get the Red Light and (Calculating...) on my battery, any idea why it's stuck? When I first got it, when it reached 100% the cord turned green and where it says calculating it said Charged.

    Thanks
    Alex
     
  2. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #2
    Dude, i was just coming to ask this question!

    anyone have any ideas how to fix it?
    on my menu bar it charges, then it gets to 99% and just stays there.
    and it says calculating... until full
     

    Attached Files:

  3. phungy macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
    #3
    Try unplugging it and letting it drain to maybe 90%. Then plug back the adapter.
     
  4. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #4
    You might try resetting the Power Management Unit (PRAM).

    Edit:
    fixed to reflect correction posted later.
     
  5. phungy macrumors 68020

    phungy

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2006
    Location:
    FL/NY/TX
    #5
    Interesting. This is for any Mac? So I'd have to do this procedure if I had this problem?
     
  6. Me1000 macrumors 68000

    Me1000

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2006
    #6
    I do that a lot! this problem has been going on for a while now!


    Is there anything that could hurt the macbook AT ALL by doing this?
     
  7. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #7
    It might reset the time/date on your system, but that's all. Read the apple documentation if you need more reassurance.
     
  8. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
    #8
    That's actually Parameter RAM.

    Depending upon which computer you have, you can try to either reset the PMU for PowerBooks/iBooks, or the SMC for MacBooks (Pro).
     
  9. gauchogolfer macrumors 603

    gauchogolfer

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2005
    Location:
    American Riviera
    #9
    Oops, thanks for the catch. That'll teach me to post while I'm watching the end of a playoff game. I got the Power Management part right, just seemed to mess up my acronyms :rolleyes: .
     
  10. aquajet macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2005
    Location:
    VA
  11. natallica macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2005
    Location:
    Fairfax, VA
    #11
    I have the same problem. Did anyone try the PRAM reset and did it help???

    Thanks!

    -- N
     

Share This Page