Beautiful IBook! Thanks all! few Questions?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by netytan, Jul 12, 2004.

1. netytan macrumors 6502

netytan

My IBook finally arived today after so much waiting and arguing with people from the bank, shop, currier... but thats all over now. And, its just so damn cute i havn't been able to put it down all day.

I even tuck it shopping with me and got some weird looks for speaking to it. Probably doesn't help that i gave it a name that reminds me of my girlfriend - DC (My little name for her) and Darwin da Computer ;).

Also got a bunch of people in the library come up to ask me questions about it! Not that im an expert. But it felt good :D.

Just a few Questions if I may:

1) To Uninstall something on a Mac you simply drag the program or folder to the 'Trash' on the doc?
    2) Should there be a folder that looks like a copy of my user directory in the 'Applications' folder?
    3) How can you create a new file on the desktop. I've seen it done but i just cant see a 'New File' tab in finder. Do you have to create a file in an App and save or move it to the desktop?
    4) Is it possible to change the icon of say a folder. Just i have a bunch of sweet looking icons from some Mag' and was just thinking. How do i do that ;).

Anyway i just wanted to thank you all for you're help with this little switch over of mine; its a shame it had to be so hard but seems to be well worth it now.

Thanks again,

Mark.

2. netytan thread starter macrumors 6502

netytan

One last Question: i just knowticed that i have 44GB of HD space left. I got the 60GB HD so that means that 16GB of space is being taken up somewhere and all i've done is install the disk that came with the IBook.