Been out of this for a while - what program are you using for tagging?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by fivepoint, Jul 27, 2010.

  1. macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #1
    Due to being busy or something like that I stopped ripping and tagging videos about a year ago, but am not trying to get back into it. I've always used Handbrake for the ripping, and that still works great, but I redownloaded MetaX (which I used to use for all of my file tagging) but for some reason it seems to be ruining my files during the tagging process. The new artwork and tag data comes through correctly, but the video is turned into just blackness.

    Is anyone else out there still using MetaX, or is it broken for everyone?
    What's the best and most user-friendly alternative out there?

    Appreciate any help you can provide!
     
  2. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #2
    MetaX has been fixed for several months now. Someone at TagChimp modified the TagChimp API so that MetaX would start working again. Been working great for me.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #3
    I don't think we're talking about the same problem though... my problem with MetaX is that it seems to be ruining my video files. It turns them black... no content.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Alabama
    #4
    Fivepoint... Sorry if I am over simplifying this, but are you using Handbrake in addition to VLC Player? Handbrake needs VLC... Perhaps your rip works fine before running it thru Meta-X, I don't know, but it sounds to me like you are just using Handbrake and it's not stripping the encryption. VLC should fix that. I use Meta-X and don't have this problem.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #5
    bt22,
    Actually, the files are working perfectly after the handbrake rip (I do have VLC installed) but for some reason, after the MetaX tagging process, the files becomes unusable. The artwork/tags are there but the video is just black. No content.
     
  6. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Location:
    Alabama
    #6
    Alright...I figured you knew what you were doing. Just wanted to ask. Hope you find a solution to your problem, sorry I couldn't help.
     
  7. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #7
    fivepoint: the mac version of metax has some serious issues which I am pained to say. Right now Subler imho is your best bet. I was a staunch metax on mac user when kerstetter was active and developing but it appears for now that he has abandoned the project. Subler is developed by one of the HandBrake devs and uses the very same mp4 muxer. Its golden. Only drawback is it cannot scrape amazon. though it does scrape tagchimp.
     
  8. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2004
    #8
    Subler

    Agreed, even if MetaX was 'fixed' and stopped corrupting files I would continue to use Subler as it also allows you to edit other fields such as the HD tag or the cnID. Love it!
     
  9. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #9
    heh, subler is a jewel, I told ritsuka (sublers dev) that he really should remame it to some thing else. Cripes it will remux a mkv to an mp4. Definitely underrated. Probably the best utilization of libmp4v2 other than hb.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #10
    Dynaflash, you're a good man! Just downloaded Subler, and it works great! I'll miss the "moooo" of MetaX, but I'm glad to be back in the ripping/tagging business!

    Much obliged, I owe you one more now! One question, it seems as if Subler is automatically un-selecting surround sound and chapter markers. Why is this, and should they be left off or turned on?
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Wolffie

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2008
    #11
    How to Subler

    Can someone point me to where I can learn to use Subler?

    It looks like a great program, I'm just not sure how to use it.
    Every time I feel I make progress I think I lose info.

    Google hasn't been helpful.

    Thank you in advance!
     
  12. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    #12
    This is almost always caused by not selecting (or selecting) 64 bit support in the preferences depending on if you are ripping from handbrake with 64 bit support enabled. Whatever you are doing in handbrake must be matched in MetaX. I switched from 32 bit to 64 bit machine in the middle of my ripping -- that's how I found this out.
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2009
    Location:
    Idaho
    #13
    Fivepoint I had the same problem and it was very frustrating. I had to do what VTmac suggested and it has worked perfect ever since.
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #14
    Assuming you are talking about the standard audio track layout that comes out of HB for the atv (1-aac and 1-ac3), this is correct. the surround should be and is disabled. that is proper for the atv as the atv knows to use the ac3 track if your device supports even though it shows as disabled. in short that is correct.

    As far as chapters go, are they enabled from your hb encodes ?
     
  15. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #15
    Good to know, I'll have to try that... although now that I have Subler now, not sure I would want to go back. Subler does seem a bit faster, but I don't think it has some features (TV Show Setting Saving) like MetaX does.



    Dynaflash, I am using the AppleTV preset with no changes on Handbrake. Very happy with that setting.

    On Subler, when I select the video file to edit, it gives me 4 checkboxes with two selected and two not. The two that are not selected are Surround Sound and Chapter Markers. So far, I've been checking them both (because I figured that I did want to keep the Surround Sound!) so I didn't lose anything. You're saying this is wrong, and I should have left them unchecked? Won't I then lose my Surround Sound data?

    A brief explanation would be much appreciated!
     
  16. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #16
    Yes, the checkbox just means the track is enabled. Not that you want to keep or delete it. So leave it unchecked. You will not lose the data at all, it just will be marked disabled by default. As I said the atv overrides this if you are hooked up to a 5.1 capable sound source. This is the very format as far as audio aac 1 being enabled and audio ac3 2 being disabled as HD movies from itunes ( it is worth noting that handbrake got this to work right by reverse engineering the intro movie from the atv software).

    So, in short leave the audio as it is in subler. Subler is showing how its setup out of HB. As far as chapters ... I have left that alone too, chapters still show up on the atv.
    Basically from an atv encode out of HB do your tagging and let it rip. Done deal.

    Also note on the MetaData tab at the bottom left there is a little drop down where you can select tag sets to fill in for Movies or Tv shows Its not super obvious but once you get used to it it works good. Kind of a tag template.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #17
    Great info. I will leave those unchecked (diabled) from now on. However, the 20 or so I processed last night where I did check (enable) the surround sound feature... What affect will this have on the file? Will ATV be unable to play it now, or will it not sound correct on it or any other devices (iPhone, iPad, etc.?)

    Thanks

    P.S. I'm correct that the new iPhone and new iPad can both play the Handbrake ATV preset now, right? Awesome.
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #18
    Frankly I don't know about having both checked. You'll have to try it out and see. yes, the new iPhone and iPad can play the atv preset.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #19
    I'll try it when I get home and report back. I just thought you'd probably know what would happen if the Surround Sound was left on since that was an option in Handbrake.

    THX
     
  20. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #20
    Actually its not. In hb the second ac3 track is disabled upon encode (which is why subler shows it as such). Anyway check it out and hopefully it works. Of course if not instead of re encoding just open it back up with subler and disable the surround track. Much faster than re encoding. ;)
     
  21. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #21
    Ah... ok, I thought you said that the ATV preset on Handbrake disabled the SS option, so that's why I thought you'd know what would happen if the SS feature had NOT been disabled.

    Anyway, I checked it out over the lunch hour, and the videos play fine through the AppleTV this way. Didn't notice any difference. I will leave them unchecked in the future though. Thanks.
     
  22. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #22
    Also, regarding the chapters track, ritsuka the subler dev ( and also a hb dev ) confirmed that enabling the chapters track has no effect on the chapters being accessible on any apple device. So just leave it as is.

    Have fun with Subler!
     
  23. thread starter macrumors 65816

    fivepoint

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2007
    Location:
    IOWA
    #23
    Thanks!
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Location:
    Finland
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Location:
    Southeast of Baltimore, USA
    #25
    +1 for iFlicks. I use it every day for tv shows and for my dvds that I ripped.

    I love it.
     

Share This Page