Beginner Java Programmer Question

Discussion in 'Mac Programming' started by Hylekmi, Jan 5, 2012.

1. macrumors regular

Im very new at this(2nd class) and I have a slight issue. I am currently using TextWrangler and I need to find a VERY easy way to compile. I am in a class that has ALOT of windows users and they use a program where there is a button to compile. It is my understanding that, to compile in text wrangler you need to use a script. Is there any way around that? or is there another program i can use that is easier? Thanks for the Help!

-Mike

2. macrumors Pentium

KnightWRX

What program are your Windows using collegues using ? Because most likely it's either Netbeans or Eclipse, both of which are available for OS X.

3. Guest

Yep, time to dive into an IDE that will let you compile and debug. I prefer Eclipse for Mac but Netbeans is also a great tool as well. Both are free.

4. thread starter macrumors regular

Its like notepad or something that comes stock on a PC. I know they had to download a JDK and that I did not have to because I'm on a MAC. Ill try those suggestions too. Thanks!
    -Mike

5. Guest

You can code in them, but you will find it easier in an IDE as it will help you with the coding by pointing out various errors. Another that is fairly decent is JGrasp (they have it for Mac) that is more like Notepad. JGrasp is more powerful than using notepad but less powerful than a full IDE like Eclipse. JGrasp will take a little configuring but they have good help files.

6. macrumors Pentium

KnightWRX

Notepad++ with external tools pre-configured ?

Anyway, here's how to replicate it in TextWrangler : http://www.davalign.com/resources/compile-and-run-java-files-with-textwrangler-on-mac.php

2nd link on google with the query "text wrangler compile".

7. Guest

8. macrumors 68030

jared_kipe