Beige G3 and Panther

Discussion in 'Buying Tips, Advice and Discussion (archive)' started by Sweetfeld28, Oct 8, 2003.

1. Sweetfeld28 macrumors 65816

Sweetfeld28

As i am a University Student, i was looking at the Student pricing of Panther. After noticing the $69.00 price tag i became intrested. So i then began to read the Requirements. As reported from Apples Panther page:

"Requirements:
    Macintosh computer with PowerPC G3, G4, or G5 processor; built-in USB; and 128MB of physical RAM.

1) Video conferencing requires a 600MHz or faster PowerPC G3, a PowerPC G4, or a PowerPC G5 processor; broadband Internet access (100 Kbps or faster); and a compatible FireWire DV camera or web camera.
    2) Internet access requires a compatible service provider; iDisk requires a .Mac account; fees may apply.
    3) Processor upgrade cards are not supported".

my question is— will my beige G3 be able to run Panther, if i don't have (a) built-in USB--i do however have a PCI USB card, and (b) i have a upgraded OWC 533 Mhz. G3 processor??

i think that this has been discussed before but i can't remember where, or what the answer was. I was figuring to go to a store on opening night and buying it, but if i can't use it what is the point. i was also planning to ask a sales guy there too; but sometimes they aren't the greatest at helping.

2. applemacdude macrumors 68040

applemacdude

Nope Panther does not let you install itself on a beige g3...sorry

3. Horrortaxi macrumors 68020

Horrortaxi

Are you sure? Jaguar doesn't technically support the beige G3 either (no built-in USB) but it runs fine.

4. Sweetfeld28 thread starter macrumors 65816

Sweetfeld28

yeah, i thought that i read somewhere that someone had the developer version running on their G3 MT. if i find it i will post it.

5. Sweetfeld28 thread starter macrumors 65816

Sweetfeld28

This from this link:
    http://www.applelinks.com/articles/2003/06/20030627113159.shtml