Beige G3 in G4 Case???

Discussion in 'General Mac Discussion' started by vdubskey, Nov 9, 2003.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    #1
    does anyone know if a beige G3 guts will fit in a G4 graphite case, i have the oppertunity to get one but dont know if it will fit, it looks like the processer will hit the power suppy or cdrom, any info on this?
     
  2. macrumors 6502a

    LimeLite

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Location:
    Los Angeles, Ca
  3. macrumors G3

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    #3
    looks less antique??? :eek: :p :p
     
  4. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    #4
    The purpose is the beige case is just plain ugly, and the g4 case is a much nicer case and i am able to get one for a cheap price, i just need to know if it will fit...
     
  5. macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #5
    But you can fit more stuff in the beige case. :confused:
     
  6. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2003
    #6
    But its so plain, the G4 case is very pleasing to the eye, it also goes well with the 23" cinema screen which is on the way. Does anybody have any measurments on a G4 motherboard, or the G4 case?
     
  7. macrumors G3

    Counterfit

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2003
    Location:
    sitting on your shoulder
    #7
    After thinking very briefly, I'm pretty sure the task will require some major modifications to the logic board (hard, most likely destruction of the logic board as a result) or the case (easier, but still tricky).
     
  8. macrumors 68040

    Powerbook G5

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2003
    Location:
    St Augustine, FL
    #8
    I've only seen the inside of a beige G3 once and it seems like the motherboard is kind of big and clunky to fit inside a G4 case.
     
  9. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    #9
    it wont fit, the door would never be able to close unless you removed the CDrom drives and cage. On the G4 mainboards this area is "bare".
     

Share This Page