Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

SpaceMagic

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 26, 2003
Cardiff, Wales
Hey all,

I am attempting to connect my macbook core 2 duo to a F5D7630 Belkin 54g router. It works with other belkins but for some reason will just not work with this one. There are hundreds of people on net who have same problem, was wondering if anyone here knew a solution. Whatever I do (i'm no novice at networks//setting up routers) it still doesn't work.

Help.
Thanks

SpaceMagic

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Oct 26, 2003
Cardiff, Wales
hehe.

Ok so far.

With WEP/Without WEP With WPA/Without WPA. Off MAC Address filtering/On MAC filtering. New wireless SSID, new wireless channel. Turned off proprietry Belkin things like Nitro g. Restarted router. Turned router off/on. Updated firmware.

The MacBook connects fine to other networks, just not this one. Others have had similar problems. I've emailed Belkin, hopefully they'll reply and make a new firmware!

t0mb0

macrumors newbie
Dec 19, 2006
There are many people on the apple discussion forums with the same trouble. The C2D macbook cannot connect to certain third party basestations. Because this is true in both windows and OS X, I believe it is a firmware issue with the pre-n cards in the newer macbooks. As it happens with only some third party basestations, it is easy to write-off as a problem with the basestations, however, it is documented that loads of other computers (including ibooks etc.) connect just fine. I don't know whether apple are working on a fix, or even acknowledge this as a problem.

ruzzian

macrumors member
Oct 5, 2005
Southsea, UK