Best and Fast alternative to Hand brake?

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by xp0z3d, Feb 28, 2013.

  1. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #1
    I am new to this conversion process as I am trying to convert all my MKVs to M4V to have them playback using ATV3. Handbrake takes a lot of time even though my MKVs are x264 video with DTS audio. What I so far understand is it should be easy to convert a video from mkv to m4v if codec is x264 in source file. So I was kind of hoping to passthru video and only convert DTS to AC3 multichannel so to save some time doing the conversions.
    I did not find a way to do this with HB , so was wondering is there a way or program that would just pass thru video and only convert audio ?

    I am not very well versed with this but would love to learn more.
     
  2. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #2
    I would suggest mp4tools.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #3
    I have downloaded mp4tool 3.2.5 and so far not able to use it because anytime I try to open any video it gives me error saying it could not identify a video in the file. So since yesterday tried to find a answer and nothing.
     
  4. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #4
    Are your file sources BR's or downloads? If you have Media Inspector or Media Info, how about posting an analysis of a file that is giving a problem?

    Also, you should be able to do the re-packaging of the file using Subler. I just like mp4tools better for files that contain DTS audio.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #5
    i have Blu rays that i made to MKV on my windows laptop.

    So far I have not had luck of even getting mp4tool 3.2.5 to even accept a single mkv , m4v or mp4 , it says same thing to all of those even files that are m4v and run fine on ATV3.

    But then i went and got older mp4tools which is 3.1.4 which had no problem of opening those files. I even tried it for a small mkv although result was a lot of temp log files and audio video files separately etc.
     
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2011
    Location:
    UK
  7. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #7

    Here is one file that I converted to m4v last night using IVI and plays fine with iTunes and ATV but still mp4tools says "Mp4tools could not identify this file as a video"
     
  8. mic j, Feb 28, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013

    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #8
    Not sure how you are using mp4tools on a "Windows laptop" as it is a mac application. :confused:

    Edit: never mind...I see that you just ripped them using a Windows machine. You're must be using a Mac to do the re-packaging, correct?

    And if I understand you correctly an older version of mp4tools works ok, correct?

    If that's the case, I have no idea what the issue might be with your files and the new version of mp4tools. Emmgun (developer) is quiet responsive if you want to contact him by email for help. Have you tried Subler?
     
  9. macrumors G5

    Macman45

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2011
    Location:
    Somewhere Back In The Long Ago
    #9
    The only sure fire method apart from handbrake, which I know is kind of slow, but is reliable...Is Roxio's Toast Platinum....The Mac version cost's around £140 though...I have a buddy who uses it and he says it's super fast, but I can't vouch for it as I'm happy enough to wait for HB to do it's thing.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #10
    I am using Macbook now ,in past used windows to rip movies as no Blu ray drive with Macbook.

    Yeah older version worked for me but newer does not take files at all. Will email the developer .

    I have used subler for meta tagging for itunes. But do not know if it will convert dts to ac3 or does it? I think i have done mkv ac3 file to m4v using subler , that file was downloaded though.

    One more question I wanted to ask was , I have used HB earlier and successfully converted some file and they play fine on iTunes and ATV but they start with default Surround track and no sound but then I manually select Stereo and sound comes and if then I go back to select Surround , I still get sound but not when its already selected at start of file in ATV3.


    In that case will use HB , only thing was looking for a faster way but that one sounds a lot of money.
     
  11. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #11
    You can get Subler to convert DTS to AC3 but it is a multistep process. Look for posts on this forum for the process. I only use HB so I do not have direct knowledge of the process, just remember seeing posts on how to do it. I also remember seeing a recent post on using iffmeg (or something like that) to convert the audio track and then muxing it in using Subler. Keep in mind, that if you don't transcode, you are keeping the high bitrates of the original file. If you are using the aTV wirelessly, those high bitrates may cause streaming problems. Also, if storage space is a concern, your file sizes will be 3-4 times larger by not using HB. If speed is your only issue, those are just some things to consider when making the decision to just change containers.

    As for getting the correct sound on the aTV, it sounds like you have it Dolby Digital preferences set to Auto. It should be set to On.
     
  12. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #12
    Well, to be fair though, subler itself has no AC3 encoder, therfore it has no way to convert DTS to AC3, even with perian installed.
     
  13. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #13

    Streaming is not problem . My ATV is wired to Time capsule. I tried ffmpeg method but i did not understand it much , downloaded ffmpeg but could not run any commands etc.

    Just checked audio on ATV set to On for Dolby Digital
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #14
    Take a look at this: http://www.iffmpeg.com
     
  15. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #15
  16. mic j, Feb 28, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013

    macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #16
    Your right! It's only converts AC3 to AAC stereo. But haven't there been posts here on how to use Subler on files that contain DTS? I'll have to look into that, maybe I'm mistaken.

    ----------

    Open the file with Subler and make sure that the stereo track is checked and the surround track is unchecked.

    Clarification: Subler can convert DTS to AAC stereo, Dolby Prologic, or 6-channel discrete but not AC3. Per Dynaflash (and his word is God-like in my opinion) the aTV will down mix the 6-channel discrete into a 3-channel stream with odd characteristics. So Prologic or stereo are the only viable options for dealing with DTS when using Subler. Part of my confusion came from posts of people trying to generate an AAC Prologic stereo track from an AC3 surround track using Subler when just changing containers. Sorry.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #17
    going out , will come back n try that in subler. one thing though can i still do that to files already m4v ?
     
  18. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #18
    Yes.
     
  19. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #19
    One more stupid q to ask. I downloaded iFFMPEG and it asks me to have binaries which again i downloaded. Now it says to copy them to iffmpeg, which I try to do is by draging binaries over iffmpeg app in application folder but it just gets pasted there.
     
  20. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #20
    I have no direct knowledge of iffmpeg. But from the way the site reads, the binary's just need to be in the same application folder to be available for iffmpeg to use. So dragging and pasting in there may be all that is necessary. I have not looked at the binary files, however, do they need to be uncompress or anything, i.e. do they come in a dmg or zip file that needs to be opened?

    Maybe someone here that has some direct iffmpeg hands-on experience can help.
     
  21. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #21
    Well they are in zip and after that i extracted and its Unix executable file , I tried putting in Application folder where iffmpeg is , even tried putting them into iffmpeg with show package contents but still its asking for binaries.
     
  22. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #22
    Try this for an already compiled ffmpeg binary: http://ffmpegmac.net
     
  23. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #23
    Yeah I have downloaded a bunch of them but dun know where to copy or put them to make iffmpeg see them. Everytime it says me to check SS.

    [​IMG]
     
  24. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2012
    #24
    Ok, I just did it. You have iFFmpeg downloaded and installed. Start it. Next download the FFmpeg binary from the above link in my post. It will be a zip file. Open the zip file and you will see a file called FFmpeg. Drag and drop that file onto the opened iFFmpeg application. It will ask you if you want to copy it into the iFFmpeg folder. You will say, yes. You should be good to go.
     
  25. thread starter macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2012
    #25
    Oh lol , this was so simple yet I tried everything else. Thanks mate! You as always are a wonderful and patient person.
     

Share This Page