Best connection?

Discussion in 'Mac Peripherals' started by ChrisDx, Dec 27, 2012.

  1. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    #1
    Hi;

    I'd like to connect my MBAir to my d2 Quadra (laCie) to enable using Time Machine. The MBAir has USB and Thunderbolt ports. The Quadra has a wide range of ports but no Thunderbolt. Suggestions?

    Thansk;
    Chris
     
  2. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #2
    USB or Firewire 800 via the Thunderbolt to Firewire adapter.
     
  3. Moderator

    maflynn

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Location:
    Boston
    #3
    Well if you only have TB and USB, then I recommend using the USB since its the lowest common denominator, i.e., on both the drive and computer
     
  4. macrumors 68000

    MisterKeeks

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2012
    #4
    What specific ports does it have?
     
  5. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    #5
    The LaCie d2 Quadra ports:
    FireWire 400
    FireWire 800
    USB2 (Type B)
    eSATA
     
  6. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #6
    Then again, USB or Firewire 800 via a Thunderbolt to Firewire adapter.
     
  7. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    #7
    The MBAir has USB Type A ports while the Quadra has a USB Type B port. I found a cable with Type A and Type B ends and connected the two but for some reason it is not showing up on the MBAir as a device. I restarted the MBAir to no avail. This may be another issue for another thread?
     
  8. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #8
    Does it show up In Disk Utility?
     
  9. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    #9
    Nope.
     
  10. thread starter macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    #10
    OK here's the scoop. I have both my iMac and my MBAir connected to the Quadra. The iMac and Quadra was the pre-existing connection (running Time Machine). When I shut down the iMac, the Quadra showed up in the MBAir Finder. I started Time Machine on the MBAir and restarted the iMac; the Quadra did not show on the iMac Finder.

    So, I guess it's one at a time when Time Machine is on either computer. Once TM is finsihed, I'll turn it off on both computers and the Quadra should show up on both.

    I'll report back if that is not the case.
     
  11. simsaladimbamba

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2010
    Location:
    located
    #11
    I do not know, you connected the HDD to both your Macs (Firewire 800 or USB I guess), but one HDD cannot be connected physically to two computers that way.
    Either you connect the HDD to one Mac and let that one Mac share that HDD to other Macs via your home network or you use a network HDD (NAS) to connect with two Macs or more to the same HDD.

    That would explain, why the HDD did not show up on either Mac while being connected to both, but did show up, when one Mac was shut off. Time Machine has nothing to do with it.
     

Share This Page