Best Display? Apple or Dell

Discussion in 'Mac Accessories' started by LukasD, Oct 12, 2006.

1. LukasD macrumors newbie

Now I realise I'm only a new poster and may have mentioned the evil "D" word very early on but I still have to ask:

Should I buy a Dell 24" disply or the Apple 20"?

I work as a photographer and can't quite afford an Eizo or LaCie display but am looking to use an external display with either a Macbook Pro or Macbook (just waiting until the Core 2's).

The chosen display will be calibrated using a eye-one device for photoshop and other apps.

Let me know what you think (and have experienced).

2. Markleshark macrumors 603

Markleshark

To be honest. I'd go with the Dell.

There have been a lot of Dell Vs. Apple monitor arguements :rolleyes: on here and Dell seems to be the winner. Picture quality is great and the price is much, much better than the Apple displays. They are hugely over priced for what you get, IMO! Also, with the Dell, you get an extra 4" and who doesn't want 4 more inches. :p ;)

3. Sesshi macrumors G3

Sesshi

I've now got both 23" ACD and the 24" Dell, and even in that comparison between the same screen sizes I say go with the Dell. The Apple is a little prettier (oh all right, a LOT prettier if you're looking at it from the back) but it's a more flexible product which doesn't give away anything in image quality, and it costs less.

4. daneoni macrumors G4

daneoni

Dell most def, you just get soo much more for your money and its cheaper than the ACDs.

5. ziwi macrumors 65816

ziwi

I agree, the Dell does give you a bit more bang for the buck. You will not be missing too much in foregoing the Apple display.

6. Veritas&Equitas macrumors 68000

Veritas&Equitas

Dell. No decision at all. Dell 24'' vs. a ACD 20'' for same price? Um, Dell please.

7. orangezorki macrumors 6502a