Best external Hard Drive?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by asherman13, Nov 4, 2005.

  1. asherman13 macrumors 6502a

    asherman13

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #1
    i'm looking for a decent firewire external HD for me to backup my ipod videos onto. any recommendations for +20GB, <$100, external hard drive?
     
  2. zim macrumors 65816

    zim

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2002
    #2
    I have had a lot of luck with the D2 series from Lacie (http://www.lacie.com/products/product.htm?pid=10511). Currently I have 2 of them, a 160GB and a 200GB, and am looking at purchasing a 3rd, 250GB. The new ones have a triple interface, USB 2.0, Firewire 400 and Firewire 800, so they work great for daisy chaining too.

    oops... I missed the whole part about <100. Honestly, you should buy buy a drive at least capable of backing up your entire primary drive, if that is what you will be using it for. You should be on the look out for a 5200 rpm set up, any faster and you will be putting out my cash.
     
  3. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #3
    Under $100? You'll have a hard time finding a new one at the price.
    Over 20 Gb -- the minimum size these days is 80 Gb.
    You can look for sales on the Acomdata external hard drive -- if you have a local store that's advertising a sale on the "USB2" 160 Gb Acomdata, ask them to open the box for you. You'll probably see it has a Firewire connection as well as a USB2 connection.

    Otherwise, buy an external Firewire case for US$40 - $50, and install the IDE (Parallel ATA) hard drive of your choice, new or used whatever you can find in your budget range.
     
  4. Laser47 macrumors 6502a

    Laser47

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2004
    Location:
    Maryland
    #4
    I find it cheaper if you buy a hdd and a exclosure seperately. Ive seen a 160, 7200rpm hard drive in a compusa paper for 60$ and you can get a firewire enclosure for around 40$.
     
  5. asherman13 thread starter macrumors 6502a

    asherman13

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2005
    Location:
    SF Bay Area, CA
    #5
    a firewire case/enclosure? how does that work?

    ----

    would that (total) cost <100$?
     
  6. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #6
    Depends entirely on how good a sale you can find on a hard drive mechanism of sufficient size for your liking.

    Installing the drive is a matter of 2 minutes and a screwdriver.
     
  7. EricBrian macrumors 6502a

    EricBrian

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    #7
    That is what I did and it works GREAT! :)
     
  8. EricBrian macrumors 6502a

    EricBrian

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    #8
  9. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #9
    I hear LaCie is good.
    Here's one that fit your description (kinda).

    This one is nice because it's small (tape cassette sized), lightweight, uses both USB & Firewire, and I think best of all it doesn't require a power adaptor.
     
  10. Flyinace2000 macrumors 6502a

    Flyinace2000

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2004
    #10
    I also built my own drive. Check new egg for a FW/USB2.0 enclosure and wait for a good deal on a hard drive. I got a 200 gig external drive set up for just under 100 bucks. Works like a champ. Has OSX installed on it with discwarrior and some other Rescue stuff. It has saved my butt twice for repairing my interal drive.
     
  11. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #12
    Sorry, I'm too lazy right now to do it for you, but search for "enclosure", "HDD", "hard drive" and "external" in various combinations in the Forums and you'll find a myriad of threads which already discuss the pros and cons of external HDs versus HD enclosures, and so forth. Hopefully that will be some help to you as well. :cool:
     
  12. Michael7k macrumors member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2005
    #13
    Macworld Dec 05 issue mentioned the Black Series Triple Interface as desktop hard drive while portable went to LaCie design by FA Porsche. The article was of interest as I also have been looking for an external hard drive.

    Good luck in your search.

    http://www.iomega.com/direct/produc...&ASSORTMENT<>ast_id=63191&bmUID=1131169296937
     
  13. CanadaRAM macrumors G5

    CanadaRAM

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2004
    Location:
    On the Left Coast - Victoria BC Canada
    #14
    Yeah... but the smallest iOmega is almost double the OP's budget.

    Can't follow the Apple store link on the LaCie Pocket drive, but Apple sells the 40 Gb LaCie FW & USB 2.5" drive for US$119
     
  14. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #15
    One note that I like to make when people are discussing Lacie drives, is that Lacie does not actually manufacture their own hard drives. They put everything together, and come up with a great complete package for the most part, don't get me wrong, however many people have the misunderstanding that Lacie actually makes hard drives - they don't. Pop open a Lacie drive and you will most likely find a Maxtor or Seagate drive inside.

    Just wanted to mention that for what it's worth. :cool:
     
  15. balamw Moderator

    balamw

    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Location:
    New England
    #16
    Sounds familiar, isn't that largely what Apple does in many areas too?

    In this case though the main issue is thermal management and LaCie does a fairly decent job of keeping their external drives cool and functioning at their peak. This is harder to achieve with a cheap plastic enclosure.

    B
     
  16. ~Shard~ macrumors P6

    ~Shard~

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2003
    Location:
    1123.6536.5321
    #17
    Absolutely, that was my point. Apple themselves do not make any of the components inside their machines, but look at the final product. :cool:

    Yes, they do indeed do a good job. And yes, it's harder to achieve with a "cheap plastic enclosure" - hence why it makes good sense not to buy something cheap like this, and buy a high quality one. ;) It is no different than buying a high quality external drive rather than a cheap one, it's just common sense. :cool:
     
  17. Marky_Mark macrumors 6502a

    Marky_Mark

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #18
  18. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #19
  19. Nikore macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2004
    Location:
    California
  20. sjpetry macrumors 65816

    sjpetry

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2004
    Location:
    Tamarindo, Costa Rica
    #21
    He doesn't mean a direct conversion. Electronics are generally cheaper in the US.
     
  21. Marky_Mark macrumors 6502a

    Marky_Mark

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    UK
    #22
    Yep, that's a Pound Sterling sign - dunno how you'd make the symbol on anything other than a Uk keyboard. Shift 3 for me.

    You have to remember that prices of electrical goods isn't just a straight conversion at the prevailing exchange rate. Electrical goods are just cheaper in the US, and it's often (very unfairly) a there-or-thereabouts £ --> $ swap. That's why NYC is flooded with Brits at Christmas time. Shopping, man, shopping!
     
  22. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #23
    oh, I see. I had no idea, thanks Marky_Mark and sjpetry

    If you use Shift 3 to get the Pound sign? How did you get the "$" sign?
    I didn't realize that keyboards were that different. I just assumed that the "$" on my keyboard would be replaced with the "£" on your keyboard.
    (I used copy & paste to get it that time ;) )

    EDIT: I just looked online - wow, all of your symbols are in different places! I kinda like yours more.
     
  23. Marky_Mark macrumors 6502a

    Marky_Mark

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2005
    Location:
    UK
  24. EricNau Moderator emeritus

    EricNau

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2005
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    #25
    This is probably a stupid question, but why do you need the "$" in the UK?
     

Share This Page