Best Handbrake Setting

Discussion in 'Apple TV and Home Theater' started by jmitch150, Jul 31, 2010.

  1. macrumors regular

    jmitch150

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #1
    Hi guys. What would you suggest for the best setting to encode videos on handbrake if I'm looking to use the video on my iphone4 and HDTV. I'm looking for the best HD quality but also reasonable size. Thanks for any help.
     
  2. macrumors 68000

    AppleNewton

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2007
    Location:
    1 Finite Place
    #2
    I use the default settings of the Apple Universal setting.
    The only problem I have with any settings on handbrake is the audio is to be desired, the video quality is perfect. However audio sounds softer..and that's a bit of issue brought up from time to time on the handbrake forums.
     
  3. macrumors regular

    Fa7mac

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Location:
    Macau
    #3
    download this preset. its perfect, a guy here in MacRumors uploaded it kindly in other similar post
     

    Attached Files:

  4. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    #4
    Jumped on this thread, always looking for a good HB preset :D

    Can you tell me if it plays on all Apple stuff?
    What are the approx output file sizes for say 1hr of movie/TV show?

    What are the settings? do you know if it also plays on PS3?
    cheers
     
  5. thread starter macrumors regular

    jmitch150

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #5
    My questions exactly. Any answers to those would be great. Thx forthe setting
     
  6. macrumors regular

    Fa7mac

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Location:
    Macau
    #6
    well I just played it on my :apple:TV yet. The quality is the best I´ve come across with no scattering images. The output is .mp4 Size 1h30--> +/- 1GB
    it may play in PS3 since PS3 plays .mp4 but I never tried, in my PS3 only discs go in :D
     
  7. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2009
    #7
    jmitch, what do you mean by "on your HDTV"?

    Is that using the TV itself? a cable from the iPhone? or other?

    Nobody can realise advise you without knowing what format your HDTV (or whatever is feeding it) is using.
     
  8. thread starter macrumors regular

    jmitch150

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Location:
    Boston, MA
    #8
    I would be using either my PS3 or by hooking up my MBP via HDMI
     
  9. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2003
    #9
    How do I load that preset into Handbrake?

    Also, I have some 1080p video that was in mkv format. I converted it to mp4 using Handbrake, but when I tried to drag it from iTunes to my iPhone 4, it says it can't be played on the iPhone.

    What do I need to do with the 1080p stuff I have to get it to play on the iPhone?
     
  10. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2010
    #10
    Download the file and unzip. Open Handbrake, go to Presets --> Import... and select the unzipped file. It will immediately appear in your Presets toggle window.

    Sorry I can't help with your other questions. Don't do hi-def on my ATV (yet).
     
  11. macrumors regular

    Fa7mac

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2009
    Location:
    Macau
    #11
    Once in iTunes, select the movie go to Advance>Create iPhone version
    iTunes will convert it so it can be played on the iPhone, once finished just sync it to the iPhone
     
  12. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    #12
    Is this preset better than the current :apple:TV preset?
    I only watch ripped movies on the :apple:TV so want to get the best quality.
     
  13. macrumors 68040

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #13
    I just downloaded and am trying this preset, thank you. What I've been looking for, and how I found this thread, is how to adjust the Aspect Ratio. Im new to Handbrake, so I would prefer a preset for now, but I don't like the super wide aspect ratio of the Apple Universal, and I think I tried Normal or something and got full screen. Just looking for something I can watch on my HDTV off my Mac Mini and also maybe transfer to my iPad once in a while.
     
  14. macrumors 68020

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2003
    #14
    Um, why would you want to change the aspect ratio from the source ?
     
  15. macrumors 68040

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #15
    I'd like to keep it the same as the source, I thought it looks like it wasn't doing that. I transferred a movie to my iPad, I get 1 3/8" bars top and bottom. And on the TV, it just looks like the Aspect Ratio is off, it looks very wide. The res on my Mac Mini is set to 1344x756, that might be messing with it I guess. Here is a screenshot off my Mac:
    [​IMG]
     
  16. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    #16
    How does it look when you hit command-F within VLC?
     
  17. macrumors 68040

    jjk454ss

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2008
    #17
    On the TV, they look fine in full screen, maybe I will just need to use a different setting and make a different copy for the iPad. Thanks
     
  18. macrumors P6

    DoFoT9

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2007
    Location:
    Singapore
    #18
    just chiming in, normally i choose the bitrates/quality etc myself per source, but im always up for an easier process :D
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #19
    I've been using the Apple Universal preset for a long time and have been happy. The only exception is with TV shows....sometimes a 22 minute sitcom episode encoded at 640x480 with a 4:3 AR will climb as high as 600mb.... way too much for me, so I lower the bitrate down to 1750kbps and don't notice too much of a drop in quality.

    For all of my movies though, I've never had an issue with the Apple Universal setting. Movies range from 900mb to 2.75gb depending on the length, type and aspect ratio of the film. I've got movies that are about 85-90 minutes, with an AAC track and a 5.1 AC-3 track that are under 1GB in size and look GREAT on my Apple TV, darn near indistinguishable from the DVD when played on a PS3. Most are about 1.5GB or so.
     
  20. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    #20
    Do you rip straight from the DVD using these presets? Or from an iso image?

    The reason I ask is that I've been ripping DVD's into iso files and then loading as a batch into handbrake to do overnight, but the quality on my apple tv looks horrible.

    Would it be best for me to use the apple universal(or custom one above) to rip straight from the dvd and into itunes for apple tv? Or am I missing something?

    Thanks in advance
     
  21. GermanSuplex, Aug 16, 2010
    Last edited: May 7, 2011

    macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #21
    It shouldn't matter whether you encode straight from the DVD, from an iso, or DVD folder structure. It's all the same video going in, so it shouldn't make a difference. The videos shouldn't look horrible if you use the Apple Universal setting, I can't speak for other settings though.
     
  22. macrumors member

    Charlie Croker

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2010
    #22
    I've read a few posts on Handbrake settings over the months I've been using it and more often than not, users will say the sweet spot is around 63% on the sliding scale. I have tried this on many videos and found it very inadequate unless the footage is fairly slow moving TV drama in well lit locations. Anything slightly grainy, dark, fast moving, looks pretty awful on the recommended settings. Has anyone got an alternative setting for 'more taxing' video?
     
  23. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2009
    #23
    Can't say I noticed that myself. I was watching my encode of Terminator 2 this morning and it's got a lot of action scenes, many of them in dark settings, and a fair bit of grain, and I noticed little to no macroblocking or pixelation. It was a pretty darn good picture. It was done with the Apple Universal preset with a 63% constant quality setting.
     
  24. macrumors 601

    BornAgainMac

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Location:
    Florida Resident
    #24
    Tonight I need to find the delta between the "normal" setting and this "Apple Universal Setting'. I am curious why my MP4's don't play on an iPhone or iPad except for Apple TV or using a Mac or PC.

    It just baffles me what setting that is causing my movies not to play.
     
  25. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2008
    Location:
    Nottingham, UK
    #25
    I like to use the 'No DCT-Decimate' option on all my encodes. I find that this can stop Handbrake from destroying subtle filmgrain.
     

Share This Page