Best hardware setup for a Web Designer

Discussion in 'Web Design and Development' started by macaddict23, Sep 20, 2007.

  1. macrumors 6502

    macaddict23

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    MacVille, USA
    #1
    I've been a Mac user since 1998 and have always cringed about using a PC. Now that I'm getting more into web design, there's just no way around it--I need to buy a PC. I work part-time at the office and the rest of the time I work from home. I currently have a Dual-core G5 next to a 30" Cinema. I just purchased Applecare for both units, so I don't have any plans on upgrading this setup to an Intel-based at least for another year or so. I would like to view my sites on a Windows machine, but I'm trying to figure out the best scenario.

    1) Buy an used Intel-based laptop so I can take it to the office, if needed. Look for one that already has Parallels & Windows Installed.

    2) Buy a new low-end PC laptop.

    My budget is around $500.

    Thanks for looking.
     
  2. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #2
    If your only requirement is to be able to check your sites on Windows browsers then just get VirtualPC and install it on your Power Mac. Sure it's not fast, but it's good enough for your needs.
     
  3. thread starter macrumors 6502

    macaddict23

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    MacVille, USA
    #3
    I thought about Virtual PC, but like I will find myself taking my work to the office where they are all Mac-based.
     
  4. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #4
    Hmmmm, ok then.

    If it were me I'd just pick up the cheapest Dell possible then.
     
  5. thread starter macrumors 6502

    macaddict23

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    MacVille, USA
    #5
    Are Dells better than e-Machines or Gateways? Thanks for the help.
     
  6. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #6
    No idea! We (UK) don't really have either.

    Over to the yanks to comment...
     
  7. thread starter macrumors 6502

    macaddict23

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    MacVille, USA
    #7
    On second thought, Virtual PC is not a bad idea. However, I was looking at the System Requirement, and I'm not quite sure if it will support my 2GHz Dual-Core G5.

    System Requirements:

    700 MHz native G3, G4, or G5 processor
    Mac OS X version 10.2.8-10.3; Mac OS X version 10.3 is required for the Power Mac G5
    CD-ROM drive
    512 MB of RAM
    3 GB of available hard-disk space
    1024 x 768 or higher-resolution monitor displaying thousands of colors
     
  8. Moderator emeritus

    edesignuk

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2002
    Location:
    London, England
    #8
    You have a G5, why wouldn't it? It'll be just fine.
     
  9. thread starter macrumors 6502

    macaddict23

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2006
    Location:
    MacVille, USA
    #9
    Cool. Thanks edesignUK!
     

Share This Page