Best Place & Price for 32GB RAM for New iMac

Discussion in 'iMac' started by craigblues, Jan 12, 2013.

  1. craigblues, Jan 12, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2013

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    #1
    Evening all!

    Well now I have got my Shipped email from Apple, (YAY!)

    I want to order the ram also so I have everything at the sametime.

    Obviously I have found the Crucial memory 16GB Kits (obviously I would buy 2 Kits) Priced at £63.59 inc the dreaded VAT.

    I just found this also at eBuyer, but unsure if its the same as above or not...
    Linky

    Or I wondered if there was somewhere else that I missed. Thanks in advance.
     
  2. macrumors 68040

    shenan1982

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    #2
    Aren't there only 2 RAM slots in the imac 27"
     
  3. macrumors 6502

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Location:
    The Real Northern California
    #3


    Uh, FOUR.
     
  4. macrumors 6502

    sshambles

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #4
  5. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    #5
  6. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    #6
    I purchased memory from Crucial. They are a well known name brand, have quality products and that goes a long way when it comes to memory. You might be able to save some money elsewhere, but the potential headaches that could ensue are not worth it.
     
  7. macrumors regular

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2012
    #7
    what about using amazon? and getting crucial ram?
     
  8. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    #8
    I'm not looking for cheap but I know alot of other suppliers also stock the Crucial Memory and just wondered if any had a sale on. :rolleyes:

    Crucial I think it is, but I have heard some mention Crosair memory is also good. Just want to make the right choice. I have always gone Crucial in the past but has that been the right choice? ha!
     
  9. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2013
    #9
    From my research they were all around the same price for the Crucial ram. I also noticed Crucial released a new model number that they suggest for the late 2012 iMac.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #10
    What are you gonna be using 32GB for? Just curious :)
     
  11. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2013
  12. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2012
    Location:
    UK
    #12
    I got mine from crucial. Saved 7% via quidco as well :)
     
  13. macrumors 6502

    sshambles

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Australia
    #13
    I'm in Australia... What's your point?
    Did you need it tomorrow or something?

    OWC I think are okay. I did see someone advertise 32GB for $195. Forget where though.
     
  14. macrumors 6502a

    turtlez

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #14
    he probably does video and 3d work. If you do high res stuff it will quickly eat up even 32GB. Computers aren't only for gaming :p
     
  15. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #15
    Or he could just be one of those who thinks he needs to "max out" and "future proof" his machine by getting what everyone else gets. Hence the question what he needs it for - which btw, he has failed to answer so far.
     
  16. macrumors 6502a

    turtlez

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2012
    #16
    perhaps but who cares lol, why do you even need to know. RAM is cheap anyway, may as well max it out.
     
  17. thread starter macrumors member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2012
    #17
    Well shall I answer all these questions. Ha!

    One I do Video and Photo editing all day everyday. Plus for £120 for 32GB Ram to have the full capabilities of the £2200 machine I've just purchased just sounds the right thing to do...

    I was basically confirming which brand I should go for. But I think I knew the answer from the start. Crucial it is.
     
  18. macrumors newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2013
    #18
    Still getting 16Gb (plus the 8 original) you'll have more RAM than you need, and spend the extra 60 quid on something else.
     
  19. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #19
    Completely useless if you're not using it.
    "May as well max it out" is exactly the kind of reasoning that is plain stupid and quite frankly, even idiotic.

    Having the full capabilities of something doesn't mean anything if you can't use the machine to its full capability. 16GB will be more than enough for some photo and video editing. As a reference, I did video and photo editing on my MBP '09 with 4GB of RAM and never had any problems.

    As a sidenote, you can add more RAM later if you do end up needing more. I would get 16GB and add more as time goes on if I need more. Just my 2 cents. But hey, your life and your money. Spend it on useless things if you wish :)
     
  20. macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #20
    So what would justify more RAM?

    Personally, I want to run Parallels with a couple of VM's running at once, at least...I think that justifies a reasonable RAM upgrade.

    Very large image editing.....probably at a professional level (not just photographs)...

    3D Rendering and image manipulation.....

    Professional level video/music editing maybe?

    Anything else.....?
     
  21. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #21
    Are you doing all those at once? And are you doing any of those for a living or just a hobby?

    I'd say that you might benefit from 16GB but still probably don't need as much as 32GB. In any case, getting 16GB(2x8GB) at first won't hurt. If you notice that things are running slow, get 2x8GB more and you'll have 32GB.
     
  22. macrumors 68040

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2009
    #22
    I agree with this, why not try 24GB (2 x 4GB it comes with and then buy 2 x 8GB aftermarket). I mean people can do what they want, but it seems to make more sense than just tossing 8GB of RAM you paid for (when you bought the machine). I did the same thing with my 27" late 2009. It came with 2 - 2GB sticks and I just stuck in 2 x 4GB's to get me to 12GB. It was plenty for me for me and then I sold it about a year and a half later to buy my Macbook Pro.

    Now if you are running a laptop (i.e. Macbook Pro) then you have to toss the memory it came with since it only has two slots.
     
  23. macrumors 68020

    T'hain Esh Kelch

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2001
    Location:
    Denmark
    #23
    I have a 32MB stick you can have for free!
     
  24. macrumors 6502a

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2011
    Location:
    Stockholm, Sweden
    #24
    This makes even more sense. 24GB should be plenty enough for most people!

    LOL, I didn't even notice the typo in the title XD
     
  25. Gavzooka, Jan 16, 2013
    Last edited: Jan 16, 2013

    macrumors member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2013
    #25
    I'm not doing any but the virtualisation but....I'm just suggesting so that people have an idea what extra RAM is useful for. Unsure on Mac OS but for 3D rendering on a Windows more RAM makes a huge difference as it reduces the time data has to spend on a scratch disk. Same applies on large images, not so sure about large video files though.

    For virtualisation, I'd be running between 2-4Gb per virtual machine and therefore 16Gb is probably plenty. However, I have to mock up test environments from time to time where I have to run multiple workstations and servers within the VM environment, so 32Gb would help with that....on PC they're not the fastest as you have to balance the load across processor cores but it does the job for what I need....I'm hoping the same is possible on my iMac when it arrives...
     

Share This Page