Best place to buy a 17" MacBook Pro?

Discussion in 'Buying Tips and Advice' started by Wolvereen, Mar 3, 2007.

1. Wolvereen macrumors newbie

Hey all, hoping you might offer some opinions...

I am looking to pick up a 17" MacBook Pro relatively soon. I am a student, and checked prices in Apple's store. The discount gets me $200 off the price (same as my wife's Teacher discount btw). However, tax is higher than that, so its almost list when all is said and done.

Given that, it is actually slightly cheaper (by $50 or so) to order out of state (bandhphoto.com for example) where they don't charge tax.

I am also aware of the refurb Apple Store (which I have no problem with) but they are out of the 17" Core 2's for now.

Is there another good place to pick one up from? Something I am missing?

Also, worth waiting (in your opinons of course) for Leopard/Santa Rosa/LED screens?

Thanks all!!

2. Lancetx macrumors 68000

Lancetx

You might check out Amazon. They charge no sales tax in most states and offer free shipping. They're also an Apple authorized reseller. They currently have the 17" MacBook Pro for $2,649.99 after rebate. I've bought Macs from them before and have had good experiences each time.

3. jessep28 macrumors 6502

jessep28

The refurb list on Apple's site changes daily pretty much. I am toying with the idea of getting a refurb MacBook to suppliment my iMac (I caught the Apple bug) and just recently they had some MacBook Core Duo's for $899 & $999 that arrived and sold out today.

Yesterday they had a couple more varieties of MacBook Pros that also went away.

Just keep an eye out and you will get a good deal. If you hurry, you more often than not pay too much. However, stay realistic about pricing. Rock bottom deals only come when the product is discontinued or when lightning strikes (figuratively).

4. polevault139 macrumors 6502