Best ram for powermac g4 fw800 1.42ghz?

Discussion in 'PowerPC Macs' started by MacintoshMaster, Jul 12, 2011.

  1. macrumors 6502

    MacintoshMaster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Britain
  2. macrumors 6502a

    bizzle

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #2
    The first ones will not work. The second will work.
     
  3. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #3
    I am not sure with the second one, it should be PC 2700...
     
  4. thread starter macrumors 6502

    MacintoshMaster

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2010
    Location:
    Britain
    #4
    Best ram for powermac g4 fw800 1.42ghz?

    Hi there,
    What is the best ram for the Powermac fw800 1.42ghz. What is the best manufacturer?
    Thanks,
    John.



    (I am looking for speed not reliability)
     
  5. macrumors 601

    alust2013

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Location:
    On the fence
    #5
    It's all going to be the same speed. You just need whatever the spec is for that model.
     
  6. macrumors 68000

    Nameci

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Location:
    The Philippines...
    #6
    Your Ram would be PC2700, it is clocked at 333MHz. You can only put up to 2GB, 512MB on each slot or 2x1GB on two slots.

    As I have replied on your other posts...

    http://www.everymac.com There you can compare powermac models and give you most of the information that you need.

    I think this is related as well to your other threads?
     
  7. macrumors 65816

    cocacolakid

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2010
    Location:
    Chicago
    #7
    Nameci is right, Everymac.com is a great resource for any Mac specification, plus they link to OWC for actual items like RAM, so even if you don't like the OWC price, you know what the specific specs of the RAM you need to find are.
     
  8. macrumors 6502

    reddrag0n

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #8
    DDR-400 ram will work in that machine, but will run at 333 speeds.
     
  9. macrumors 65816

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Location:
    Canada
    #9
    Yes it will I put some in mine when I still had it went with the Kingston Value Ram at the time worked well.
     
  10. macrumors 6502a

    bizzle

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2008
    #10
    Every MDD that I've thrown 2x 1GB in had issues with sleep, where it would sleep but never wake, so I'd recommend 4x 512MB.
     

Share This Page